ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Generator power problems  (Read 5624 times)

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Generator power problems
« on: August 09, 2014, 05:06:08 pm »

Last night I had significant power problems running off a generator. Power metered just fine, but neither my UPS nor my surge protector liked it. Surge strip would go into protect mode and UPS would switch to battery and then shut off as well.

I had to plug the console in directly (bypassing surge surpressor and UPS) to get through the show. Any ideas why this would be? BTW, once I plugged in directly, no problems. I did not like doing this, but it was necessary. FOH on the same service through the same PD had no issues and was able to run both surge protector and UPS.

I am really puzzled.
Logged

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: Generator power problems
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 05:09:13 pm »

Last night I had significant power problems running off a generator. Power metered just fine, but neither my UPS nor my surge protector liked it. Surge strip would go into protect mode and UPS would switch to battery and then shut off as well.

I had to plug the console in directly (bypassing surge surpressor and UPS) to get through the show. Any ideas why this would be? BTW, once I plugged in directly, no problems. I did not like doing this, but it was necessary. FOH on the same service through the same PD had no issues and was able to run both surge protector and UPS.

I am really puzzled.

Not enough information...
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Generator power problems
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2014, 05:37:04 pm »

What more information do you need?

Three-phase power, my distro was teed from the local sound companies cam locks. I was using a 100 amp motion labs power distribution system. 1-20 amp circuit for monitor world, 1-20 amp circuit for front of house, 3-20 amp circuits for onstage power. Front of house and monitors were on different legs. each of the 3-20 amp circuits for the band were on different legs. Voltage from each leg to neutral measured 119 or 120, voltage between each pair of legs measured 208. There was no voltage between neutral and ground.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2014, 05:39:42 pm by DavidTurner »
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: Generator power problems
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2014, 05:41:17 pm »

Number two feeder,  L5 20s on my branch circuits, 12/3 going to each of those circuits.
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: Generator power problems
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2014, 05:47:27 pm »

Furman PL plus surge protector, TRIP LITE PRO UPS
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: Generator power problems
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2014, 05:54:20 pm »

BTW, I tried putting monitors on same leg as house - no help.
Logged

Art Welter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1706
Re: Generator power problems
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2014, 05:54:32 pm »

Power metered just fine, but neither my UPS nor my surge protector liked it. Surge strip would go into protect mode and UPS would switch to battery and then shut off as well.

I had to plug the console in directly (bypassing surge surpressor and UPS) to get through the show. Any ideas why this would be?
Could be the surge strip is hosed, have you checked it out since?
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: Generator power problems
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2014, 05:57:00 pm »

I put it all back to normal today, and all is working fine.
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Re: Generator power problems
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2014, 05:59:50 pm »

Also tried s different UPS last night (lighting guy carries a spare) - same issue. It would shut off after a few minutes.
Logged

DavidTurner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 318
Generator power problems
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2014, 06:01:29 pm »

Sorry for the multiple posts, but I'm adding things as I remember them. I also tried a different quad box/L5 20 combination to monitor world. No help there either.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Generator power problems
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2014, 06:01:29 pm »


Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.041 seconds with 23 queries.