ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Choosing Automatic Voltage Regulator for PA system  (Read 6297 times)

Chris Hutagalung

Choosing Automatic Voltage Regulator for PA system
« on: August 09, 2014, 12:58:04 AM »

Hi folks,

I am completely newbie here and I have a question regarding choosing the best AVR for our system after the power generator.

So our system is consisted of 4 JBL PRX rated at 1500W Each so total would be 6000W Plus audio console, couple of wireless, and ouboard gears.

So I am thinking buying 10kVa generator and I dont know which AVR to choose. Should I buy 10 kVa regulator as well ?

Thanks

Paul G. OBrien

Re: Choosing Automatic Voltage Regulator for PA system
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2014, 10:06:04 AM »

Buy a generator with built-in voltage regulation, and then put a UPS in the FOH rack for all the small signal components.

Chuck Simon

• Pittsburgh, Pa.
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2014, 11:18:02 AM »

Chris, based on your comments, you are confusing advertised power output of the speaker cabs with their current draw.  A 1500 watt cab does not draw 1500 watts of power.  I can tell you that you can run your 4 prx cabs and outboard gear on one 20 amp circuit - people do it all the time.  With a generator you would want a little more "headroom" than that, but you don't need a 10 kVa generator for the system you describe.  A 10kVa generator is capable of producing about 83 amps at 120 volts.  If you don't mind the extra weight and expense of a generator that large then no harm done.  There have been several posts discussing power draw and with a quick search I think you can learn a lot about the subject.
« Last Edit: August 09, 2014, 11:31:14 AM by Chuck Simon »

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2014, 11:50:35 AM »