ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: D-Sub (25pin) usage/quality  (Read 2271 times)

Bob Faulkner

• Raleigh, NC
D-Sub (25pin) usage/quality
« on: February 07, 2019, 02:22:26 PM »

Looking to get a few of these cables to simplify event setup.

https://www.audiopile.net/DSUB#tab-1

Anyone have experience with this particular brand of D-Sub?  Are the pin connectors solid or hollow?  Does the case/connector feel solid?

I've seen some cheap versions of these cables and they just don't last from continuous plugging in, removing... plugging in, removing... etc... pins get bent, some pins come out... the usual.

I have various/many EWI cables (XLR, inserts, 1/4 to 1/4), but nothing like a DB25.  The quality of what I do have has been great.  I have no experience with their DSub offerings.  I'm open to other suggestions if there are better options.

Rob Spence

• Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
D-Sub (25pin) usage/quality
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2019, 02:43:13 PM »

What sort of usage are you looking at with these?

In my opinion, the d-sub connector series was not designed for extensive plugging and unplugging. No touring company would use them for daily setups.

They were originally used to interconnect electronic sub assemblies where the connections stayed put for a long time.

Later, the 9 pin was used for serial data communications and the 15 pin for computer monitors. Neither were disconnected often.

The huge advantage of them is their cost, low because of the numbers produced.

I used Elco connectors some time ago for snake connections but they also were a bit fussy and easily broken. However, with care, they did the job.

I like the gear from Audiopile though I would not expect rugged assemblies at low cost.

My $0.02

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
« Last Edit: February 07, 2019, 02:45:21 PM by Rob Spence »