ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Kanex Pro?  (Read 2336 times)

Aaron Ingersoll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Kanex Pro?
« on: July 06, 2014, 05:19:10 pm »

Is anybody familiar with the Kanex Pro VGAEXTX4? (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006VE2J0S/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_S_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=2748KS4XX7TTE&coliid=I3D12S1RNVDMGC) I found this company while doing a search for Kramer equipment. Most of the reviews I have read about these units are good but I do not always trust web reviews.

Most events I do video for are conference settings with multiple projectors, monitors, and/or tvs. Usually in the same conference room or ballroom, 125' max runs. I would like a unit like this to make cable runs easier with cat5e/6 instead of vga cable.

Doing a search for Kanex Pro on here, I found some people that use their VGA splitter but I can't find anything about their cat5e/6 extender.

Thanks for any help and/or advice!


-Aaron
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4273
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Kanex Pro?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2014, 10:00:49 pm »

Is anybody familiar with the Kanex Pro VGAEXTX4? (http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006VE2J0S/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_S_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=2748KS4XX7TTE&coliid=I3D12S1RNVDMGC) I found this company while doing a search for Kramer equipment. Most of the reviews I have read about these units are good but I do not always trust web reviews.

Most events I do video for are conference settings with multiple projectors, monitors, and/or tvs. Usually in the same conference room or ballroom, 125' max runs. I would like a unit like this to make cable runs easier with cat5e/6 instead of vga cable.

Doing a search for Kanex Pro on here, I found some people that use their VGA splitter but I can't find anything about their cat5e/6 extender.

Thanks for any help and/or advice!


-Aaron
I just bought their HDMI/CAT5 extender system and it works great, but runs a little hot.  I bought the 1 in, 1 out version, not the splitter version like you have shown, but as far as I can tell, Kanex is a real company with decent stuff.
Logged

Aaron Ingersoll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: Kanex Pro?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2014, 11:16:43 pm »

Thanks TJ. What kind of cable and length are you using? Standard cat5e or cat6? Or skew-free cat5?
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4273
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Kanex Pro?
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2014, 07:14:23 am »

Thanks TJ. What kind of cable and length are you using? Standard cat5e or cat6? Or skew-free cat5?
I ran 200' of TMB Proplex shielded Cat5e, which is stranded and therefore performs a little worse than solid. I have the Ethercon version of the cable, so I also used a pair of Neutrik Ethercon couplers and short UTP patch cables to get back to regular RJ45.

This is the box I bought:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/770142-REG/KanexPro_HDBASE100M_Long_Runner_HDMI_Extender_330.html
Logged

Aaron Ingersoll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: Kanex Pro?
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2014, 10:30:04 am »

Did the unit come with a power supply for both the sender and receiver? I am trying to find out it the one I am looking at comes with 5 power supplies or just 1 for the sender.
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4273
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Kanex Pro?
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2014, 04:25:07 pm »

Did the unit come with a power supply for both the sender and receiver? I am trying to find out it the one I am looking at comes with 5 power supplies or just 1 for the sender.
Mine is a totally different product, and yes it requires two power supplies.  The item you are looking at may have passive receivers - or not.  Sorry I don't have more specific information.
Logged

Aaron Ingersoll

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12
Re: Kanex Pro?
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2014, 07:20:53 pm »

Thanks for the help. I was having a hard time getting in contact with KanexPro. I finally did and they told me that it comes with power cables for the sender and receivers.

I pulled the trigger and ordered it. Now I am just trying to get my hands on enough ethernet cable for my event in a few weeks.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Kanex Pro?
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2014, 07:20:53 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.036 seconds with 24 queries.