ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?  (Read 6994 times)

Chuck Simon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1139
  • Pittsburgh, Pa.
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2014, 08:05:18 am »

"I have to say that my SR4719s sounded awful passive"

The 4719 is a dual 18" sub.  How did you run it passive?  Are you saying you ran it full range with tops and no crossover?  You do realize that when some are advising you to run your cabs passive they are referring to the tops.  You will still need some sort of active crossover for the subs.

If you are buying four 718XLF's why not just buy more of them and forget about the 828's and extra amps?  The 718's have built in crossover and processing.  It sounds like you don't have a lot of experience tuning a system - keep it simple!
« Last Edit: July 18, 2014, 08:17:09 am by Chuck Simon »
Logged

Jeff Hague

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
    • Richmond Pro Audio
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2014, 09:06:23 am »

"I have to say that my SR4719s sounded awful passive"

The 4719 is a dual 18" sub.  How did you run it passive?  Are you saying you ran it full range with tops and no crossover?  You do realize that when some are advising you to run your cabs passive they are referring to the tops.  You will still need some sort of active crossover for the subs.

If you are buying four 718XLF's why not just buy more of them and forget about the 828's and extra amps?  The 718's have built in crossover and processing.  It sounds like you don't have a lot of experience tuning a system - keep it simple!

Hey Chuck! I wish I could tell you how I really feel about your post but I suspect the moderator wouldn't be too happy with my post.
4719 was a typo - SORRY - I meant 4732. The 4732s sounded awful passive but quite nice bi-amped.
The PRX718XLF are for smaller gigs - A great big stack of those will never touch what the 828s can do when properly powered especially outdoors.
Just FYI - I have over 30 years experience tuning systems and I am pretty good at it. I dont know everything so I rely on folks on boards like this for advice. If you have nothing nice or useful to say, please dont say anything.
Logged

Jeff Hague

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
    • Richmond Pro Audio
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2014, 09:32:16 am »


You could consider the Macrotech I Series, a little cheaper, same power ratings, though without the DSP.

I have looked at the MacroTechs and any cost savings would probably be eaten up in the cost of a decent DSP, especially 4 in by 8 out. (Id like at least 3 in so I have the option of running the subs on an aux.)
The MacroTechs are quite a bit heavier too arent they?
Thanks!
Logged

Jeff Hague

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
    • Richmond Pro Audio
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2014, 09:38:35 am »

Hello Jeff!

Yes, they have presets v4. Passive and Bi-amp for the Xti2 and IT-HD
And v5 (which i have not yet heard), biamp only, for the HD amps.

If you are considering running the system biamp, then running the v5 presets would be the way to go.

All parameters in the HD amps are locked out, so you will have to load the xti2 modules and presets to have information.

I would be very curios to listen to the v5 improvements over the v4 for the 835's i have. but investing in HD amps for biamp operation is unfortunately out of my league.

Regards,
Sidhu

Are there V5 presets for the XTi series? Ill check it out and let you know what I find.
Thanks!

Logged

Jeff Hague

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
    • Richmond Pro Audio
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #14 on: July 18, 2014, 09:43:37 am »

The STX828's can take everything an IT8k has to offer and more.

I'm sure they can but do they need it?
I know the SRX728s needed everything you could throw at em and more but the drivers in the 828s are different - JBL 2242s which are similar to what was in the 4719s (2241s). My 4719s sounded damn good at only 2100 watts (Crown XTi6000 stereo at 4, 1 channel per cabinet) and even sounded pretty good at only 1800 watts (QSC RMX4050 stereo at 4, 1 channel per cabinet).
Thanks!
Logged

Chuck Simon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1139
  • Pittsburgh, Pa.
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #15 on: July 18, 2014, 01:05:26 pm »

Hey Chuck! I wish I could tell you how I really feel about your post but I suspect the moderator wouldn't be too happy with my post.
4719 was a typo - SORRY - I meant 4732. The 4732s sounded awful passive but quite nice bi-amped.
The PRX718XLF are for smaller gigs - A great big stack of those will never touch what the 828s can do when properly powered especially outdoors.
Just FYI - I have over 30 years experience tuning systems and I am pretty good at it. I dont know everything so I rely on folks on boards like this for advice. If you have nothing nice or useful to say, please dont say anything.

Take it easy, I didn't mean any insult.  Your 4719 comment did not make any sense and how could I know it was a typo?

And I'll stand by the advice I gave.  Investing in two different sub systems does not make sense to me, unless you have money to burn.  You don't have to accept or even agree but pleased don't get pissed off over it!
« Last Edit: July 18, 2014, 01:22:35 pm by Chuck Simon »
Logged

Jeff Hague

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 163
    • Richmond Pro Audio
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #16 on: July 18, 2014, 04:10:36 pm »

Take it easy, I didn't mean any insult.  Your 4719 comment did not make any sense and how could I know it was a typo?

And I'll stand by the advice I gave.  Investing in two different sub systems does not make sense to me, unless you have money to burn.  You don't have to accept or even agree but pleased don't get pissed off over it!

Sorry - I guess I misread the "tone" of your original post and I woke up with no coffee in the house...
I do see a lot of posts that really dont help much and its kind of a pet-peave...
Logged

Nitin Sidhu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 398
  • New Delhi, India.
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2014, 02:38:29 am »

Are there V5 presets for the XTi series? Ill check it out and let you know what I find.
Thanks!

No. HD only.
Logged
My RTA is always flat.

David Morison

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 672
  • Aberdeen, Scotland
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2014, 09:33:10 am »

The MacroTechs are quite a bit heavier too arent they?
Thanks!

The Macrotech I series as mentioned are the same weight as the equivalent powered ITech HD's.
Logged

Robert Patch

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2014, 10:52:58 am »

I'm sure they can but do they need it?
  Not really.  The question is whether you need it.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: JBL STX828s and ITech 6000s?
« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2014, 10:52:58 am »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.102 seconds with 23 queries.