ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Processing  (Read 2573 times)

Steven Anthony Mercier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Processing
« on: May 24, 2014, 10:44:20 pm »

Do i need to use a processer with my subs...got 2 Yorkville tx9s ?
Logged

Mac Kerr

  • Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6942
  • Audio Plumber
Posting Rules
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2014, 11:03:38 pm »

Do i need to use a processer

Please go to your profile and change the "Name" field to your real first and last name as required by the posting rules displayed in the header at the top of the section, and in the Site Rules and Suggestions in the Forum Announcements section, and on the registration page when you registered.

Mac
Logged

Steven Anthony Mercier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Processing
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2014, 02:47:11 pm »

How important is adding a processer for your subs...is it nessesary ? Once i power my 2 Yorkvilles tx9s properly...ap6040 yorkville amp, instead of the crown xti 4002 which is all i have for them now..i'll probably hear a big difference. Can anyone comment on this ?     Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2014, 10:55:48 pm by Steven Anthony Mercier »
Logged

Tim Padrick

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 922
  • Indianapolis
    • T.P. Audio
Re: Processing
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2014, 08:10:38 am »

You certainly need at least a high-pass filter (set per manufacturer's recommendation) and a low-pass filter (set appropriately for the sub, the tops, and the high-pass that's on the tops).  A used DR260 would be a good choice I think.
Logged

Mike Maly

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 109
Re: Processing
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2014, 10:45:40 am »

The Crown XTi has the needed processing when used with a laptop.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
-Maly Sound:
Hear the difference

Cailen Waddell

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1428
Re: Processing
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2014, 11:16:33 am »

In addition to having the right processing, the crown has close to the right amount of power for these subs.  They spec a 1700w program power.  The crown can do 1200w.  You may be a couple, maybe 5 dB shy of their maximum performance but if you are running them that hard you probably don't have enough rig for the gig. 

I think of you process them correctly on the crown you will hear a difference, especially over unprocessed.  Changing amps (in general given a reasonable quality amp) won't make a difference in how the sound, just how loud they will go. 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1879
  • Washington, D.C.
Re: Processing
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2014, 12:00:24 pm »

How did you get 5db from 1200-1700 watts?
Logged

Steven Anthony Mercier

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Processing
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2014, 02:23:37 pm »

You certainly need at least a high-pass filter (set per manufacturer's recommendation) and a low-pass filter (set appropriately for the sub, the tops, and the high-pass that's on the tops).  A used DR260 would be a good choice I think.
Thanks for the advice!
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Processing
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2014, 02:23:37 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.038 seconds with 25 queries.