ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing  (Read 3777 times)

Ben Vogel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« on: May 06, 2014, 06:57:01 pm »

Hey everyone!
 
Last night as I was falling asleep I had what I thought was a pretty innovative idea. Let's say you have a recording interface with a couple of inputs and outputs. Something like a PreSonus FireStudio - http://www.presonus.com/products/FireStudio-Project. Now, you connect all of your mics and instruments into the inputs on the interface and connect your amps for subs, mains, monitors, etc. to the outputs of the interface. Is there a piece of software in existence that you can run on a laptop connected to the interface that will take care of all the mixing, EQ, phase alignment and crossover work? If you already have a large recording interface this seems like a great way to easily set yourself up for live stuff. Any insight would be great!

Cheers
Logged

Thomas Le

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 799
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2014, 07:25:35 pm »

You might want to change your display name to your real name or else the mods will lock up this thread.
Logged

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1546
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2014, 07:43:11 pm »

Sort of ... http://mhsecure.com/metric_halo/products/hardware/2882.html


Hey everyone!
 
 Is there a piece of software in existence that you can run on a laptop connected to the interface that will take care of all the mixing, EQ, phase alignment and crossover work? If you already have a large recording interface this seems like a great way to easily set yourself up for live stuff. Any insight would be great!

Cheers

Ben Vogel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2014, 08:26:12 pm »

That 2882 is about halfway there! Maybe it will be up to me to invent the device that I'm thinking of..
Logged

Hal Clague

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2014, 08:32:25 pm »

RML Labs Software Audio Console  (SAC) with vst plug-in s to do the crossover filters and alignment

Hal
Logged

Ben Vogel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2014, 08:49:07 pm »

RML Labs Software Audio Console  (SAC) with vst plug-in s to do the crossover filters and alignment

Hal

Now that's what I'm talking about!
Logged

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6807
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2014, 10:31:15 pm »

Cubase will work just fine.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........
Proud Vietnam Veteran

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

Ben Vogel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2014, 11:00:36 pm »

Cubase will work just fine.
Really? That would work well as I already have Cubase. Would you mind briefly explaining how? Turn on monitor for all the inputs?
Logged

Josh Hana

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 253
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2014, 02:18:11 pm »

I have used my MOTU Ultralite mk3 for small gigs and some corporate shows so I can have some parametrics and comps when otherwise I'd have nothing.

All the MOTU interfaces come with software control which lets you use the interface basically as a software mixer.

With other interfaces, you can mix within a DAW, but it can be a bit more challenging. You also need to be careful with latency when using large channel counts or lots of processing
Logged

Mark McFarlane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Middle East
    • Arkose Records
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2014, 02:50:53 pm »

I have used my MOTU Ultralite mk3 for small gigs and some corporate shows so I can have some parametrics and comps when otherwise I'd have nothing.

All the MOTU interfaces come with software control which lets you use the interface basically as a software mixer.

With other interfaces, you can mix within a DAW, but it can be a bit more challenging. You also need to be careful with latency when using large channel counts or lots of processing

The Motu's dohave an advantage with onboard DSP.  No need for a DAW.  The audio never needs to go into your computer.  On the downside, I think Motu's console is a bit clunky.  I'd hate to mix a show from one unless it was pretty simple.
Logged
Mark McFarlane
ARKOSERECORDS
Turn down what's too loud.

Jerome Malsack

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1354
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2014, 03:07:35 pm »

Throw in an IPAD, wireless router and one of these control software and your a wireless. 

http://www.teachthought.com/ipad-2/4-apps-to-use-your-ipad-as-a-second-screen/

 
Logged

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1546
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2014, 05:37:12 pm »

None of the solutions in the thread thus far other than the Metric Halo MIO are things I would trust to run a live show for a 1000 people and that I only used as system matrix EQ and delay, never to mix inputs actively.  I like dedicated hardware interfaces aka mixing consoles for that.  iPads and computers work fine right up til they don't.  Rebooting in the studio is a merely nuisance, rebooting in front of a few thousand paying customers is a bit more ahhh... intense.

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6807
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2014, 07:15:11 pm »

Really? That would work well as I already have Cubase. Would you mind briefly explaining how? Turn on monitor for all the inputs?

As with any DAW you'll need the A/D interface, but that being said Cubase V5 and above was enhanced with monitor features and the ability to more seamlessly interface with Yamaha boards. RTM and you'll find quite a bit of material covering the subject. Mostly related to studio monitoring, but applicable to FOH if used for that.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........
Proud Vietnam Veteran

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Using a Recording Interface for Processing/Mixing
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2014, 07:15:11 pm »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.038 seconds with 22 queries.