ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: bridge and 70v  (Read 7450 times)

Keith Broughton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3000
  • Toronto
Re: bridge and 70v
« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2014, 06:42:12 am »

yep, I  was hoping not to need to do this as the place is a rabbit warren. I had hoped that as the system has been in place a for a number of years that that the main install would be OK and that the issues they were having were people fiddling with the front end. Oh well....

will be in there early doors on Sunday morning to go over it in more detail.
Don't forget a dust mask when you go digging in the ceiling.
Good luck! :)
Logged
I don't care enough to be apathetic

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3118
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: bridge and 70v
« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2014, 07:25:59 am »

It might be easier to cut it all off and start again.  Use the old cable to pull through a new cable - Unless someone has cable tied it to everything!


Steve.
Logged

John Roberts {JR}

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16216
  • Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: bridge and 70v
« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2014, 08:46:16 am »

I repeat my original advice (divide and conquer) + ask if anyone remembers an event or change when the system first started working bad? 

JR
Logged
On the internet people tell you everything "they" know, not the answer to "your" question.....  http://circularscience.com/

Jerome Malsack

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1313
Re: bridge and 70v
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2014, 12:35:41 pm »

Turn all amps off and then turn only one on and see what the result is.
Logged

claude cascioli

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: bridge and 70v
« Reply #14 on: June 20, 2014, 09:19:08 am »

Decades ago, "dB" magazine had an article on how to troubleshoot a 70V system. I wonder if anyone still has a copy?  But as I recall the number one problem is that someone hooked up a speaker without using a matching transformer.

Adding a passive sub would require a real big matching transformer and place a great burden on the amplifier.
call a sound contractor you have no businuess doing this job
Logged

Jerome Malsack

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1313
Re: bridge and 70v
« Reply #15 on: June 24, 2014, 07:42:37 pm »

One tool is an impedance meter. 

http://www.toaelectronics.com/products/zm-104a.html

Worth looking at the manual on the attached pdf on the web link. 

Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.079 seconds with 23 queries.