ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: effects loop  (Read 2328 times)

Roy Eikamp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
effects loop
« on: April 23, 2014, 01:04:38 am »

need some help on patching an analog effects into a zed 14 mixer. I know it sends  out of aux 3 or 4 but where does it return. Sorry for the simple question.
thanks Roy Eikamp
« Last Edit: April 23, 2014, 01:41:05 am by Roy Eikamp »
Logged

Thomas Le

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 787
Re: effects loop
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2014, 01:27:28 am »

You need to have your full name as your display name or the mods/admins will lock up this thread.
Logged

Lyle Williams

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1556
Re: effects loop
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2014, 03:14:45 am »

Just back into a spare channel?
Logged

Thomas Le

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 787
Re: effects loop
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2014, 07:23:27 am »

Yep, sacrifice a spare stereo channel for your FX returns.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged

Steve Oldridge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1176
Re: effects loop
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2014, 10:37:43 am »

need some help on patching an analog effects into a zed 14 mixer. I know it sends  out of aux 3 or 4 but where does it return. Sorry for the simple question.
thanks Roy Eikamp
I you have to go external, come back into one of the Stereo (ST1/ST2) channels, tho' the onboard effects are useable.
Logged

Bill McIntosh

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 374
  • Louisville KY
Re: effects loop
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2014, 08:26:21 pm »

I you have to go external, come back into one of the Stereo (ST1/ST2) channels, tho' the onboard effects are useable.

Agreed -- I had a Zed 22-FX and used a stereo return instead of giving up an input channel. Not sure if the Zed 14 the OP has, is the "-FX" model with onboard effects though.  You lose one aux to the onboard.
Logged
Opinions are like belly buttons.  Everybody has one, but not all are suitable for public display.

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6807
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: effects loop
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2014, 08:38:21 pm »

You never said what type of effects, number of sends, etc.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........
Proud Vietnam Veteran

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

Richard Turner

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 548
Re: effects loop
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2014, 08:50:17 pm »

need some help on patching an analog effects into a zed 14 mixer. I know it sends  out of aux 3 or 4 but where does it return. Sorry for the simple question.
thanks Roy Eikamp

If memory serves the "returns" on the zed14 are RCA jacks, one is labelled effect return and the other labelled 2TRK in . IIRC they could be routed to the stereo channel  below it or master with a tiny dip switch. I havent seen one for a long time and I'll not bother downloading the manual to see if my Long term memory is still in tact, Routing back into the stereo channel would give an amount of EQ control over the effect. Mono send to and stereo return from the effect device is perfectly normal.

Logged
Looking at retiring. Local PA market has shrank to 2 guys with guitars and bose l1 compacts or expecting full line array and 16 movers on stage for $300... no middle left going back to event DJ stuff, half the work for twice the pay.

Roy Eikamp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: effects loop
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2014, 12:46:46 am »

You never said what type of effects, number of sends, etc.
thankyou all, I figured it out with all your help.

Roy Eikamp
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: effects loop
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2014, 12:46:46 am »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.03 seconds with 26 queries.