ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DiGiCo SD series shared rack, sharing outputs possible?  (Read 2594 times)

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1018
DiGiCo SD series shared rack, sharing outputs possible?
« on: April 24, 2014, 01:34:16 pm »

Hey all, anyone have experience using one rack with multiple consoles?  I'm wondering if it's possible to share outputs on the same rack?  Not the same output of course, but splitting the outputs between consoles.

Specific situation, SD8 w/DiGiRack (console connected to MADI main).  Can I add a SD11 connected to the aux madi ports and be able to use outputs on the rack from both the SD8 and SD11.

Thanks!
~Erik
Logged

Chris Johnson [UK]

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 446
Re: DiGiCo SD series shared rack, sharing outputs possible?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2014, 02:26:57 pm »

In short, no... Unless you use Optocore and SD Racks, then you can allocate each card to a different console on the 'ring'.

Logged
Riedel Communications

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1018
Re: DiGiCo SD series shared rack, sharing outputs possible?
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2014, 02:28:49 pm »

In short, no... Unless you use Optocore and SD Racks, then you can allocate each card to a different console on the 'ring'.

That was what I thought might be the case.  Thanks Chris!
Logged

Jens Palm Bacher

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 317
    • Lydfabrikken
Re: DiGiCo SD series shared rack, sharing outputs possible?
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2014, 02:39:31 pm »

Specific situation, SD8 w/DiGiRack (console connected to MADI main).  Can I add a SD11 connected to the aux madi ports and be able to use outputs on the rack from both the SD8 and SD11.
Workaround could be to connect SD11 madi out to SD8 madi input 2 and then use the SD8 to route to the rack.
Logged

Erik Jerde

  • Classic LAB
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1018
Re: DiGiCo SD series shared rack, sharing outputs possible?
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2014, 02:49:45 pm »

Workaround could be to connect SD11 madi out to SD8 madi input 2 and then use the SD8 to route to the rack.

Good idea Jens, I doubt it'll come to that, but thanks for the crafty thinking.
Logged

Chris Johnson [UK]

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 446
Re: DiGiCo SD series shared rack, sharing outputs possible?
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2014, 03:40:11 pm »

or a Ferrofish AD16. Its a relative bargain at <800, and provides 16ch in and out to MADI.
Logged
Riedel Communications

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: DiGiCo SD series shared rack, sharing outputs possible?
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2014, 03:40:11 pm »


Pages: [1]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.062 seconds with 23 queries.