ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?  (Read 4343 times)

Brian Marshall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« on: April 01, 2014, 10:44:28 pm »

edit
« Last Edit: April 06, 2014, 02:28:33 pm by Brian Marshall »
Logged

John Rutirasiri

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 732
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2014, 01:52:21 am »

Hi Guys,

This may be a really stupid/ignorant question, so please humor me. I pulled apart a Yammie sub (SW118V) tonight to see if it had the original Eminence driver in it. On the positive lead coming from the input panel was a little ceramic disk capacitor. What precisely is that little bugger's role in the factory sub cabinet. Surely it is not an attempt at a crossover? Some kind of frequency filter? It says XF250 on it. That's the only identifying mark other than CHINA.

I have looked inside custom made cabs and never saw this before. What gives? My intentions are to run a dbx 223 crossover...at like 85-90 hertz, so is there any real reason to let this capacitor continue to live in the box...or can I give it the 'ol snip-snip?

Thanks!

I recently replaced both drivers in the SW218V double-18" version of your sub.)  Sure enough that cap was there.  I do believe it is to block DC or serve as a simple low-pass filter (in conjunction with the resistance from the tiny wires.

I clipped them and the bass is tight as hell (we use crossover in the amp).  Of course a lot of that goes to the $200 PRV drivers that were put in.  The stock drivers, well they're stock drivers.

I would clip them.  And maybe you'll luck out and the stock driver will blow, so you can put in a real 18" driver.

Cheers.,
JR
Logged
ClearImpact Sound & Event Services, Inc.
Sound/Lighting/Corporate A/V

"If it ain't broke, make it better."

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3202
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2014, 03:14:50 am »

Is it in series with the speaker?  If so, it would need to be a lot bigger than a ceramic capacitor to pass any sub frequencies.


Steve.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 06:50:58 am by Steve M Smith »
Logged

James Cotton

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2014, 06:42:12 am »

That would be the Poly Switch.
It's not a capacitor, it's a self resetting protection device (fuse).
Snip at your own risk  ???

From the manual.....

Poly Switch
All full-range loudspeakers are fitted with a self-resetting
poly switch that protects the high-frequency driver from
damage caused by excessive power.
If a loudspeaker cabinet loses high-frequency output, immediately
remove power from the unit and wait for two to three
minutes. They should allow the poly switch to reset. Reapply
power and check the performance of the high-frequency
driver before continuing with the power reduced to a
level that does not cause the poly switch to interrupt the signal.
On the SW115V/SW118V/SW218V sub woofer, the Poly
Switch protects the woofer and a similar routine should be
followed if its output is lost.
Logged

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3202
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2014, 06:50:32 am »

That makes more sense!  Leave it in there.


Steve.
« Last Edit: April 02, 2014, 06:53:00 am by Steve M Smith »
Logged

Brian Marshall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2014, 12:41:08 am »

edit
« Last Edit: April 06, 2014, 02:29:02 pm by Brian Marshall »
Logged

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3202
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2014, 01:52:33 am »

Whilst it's in the conductive state, you won't notice any difference.  Think of it as a switch.  Whilst it's on, it might as well not be there.

No harm in having it though, just in case...


Steve.
Logged

Tim Perry

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1251
  • Utica-Rome NY
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2014, 01:59:26 am »

Interesting! I learned something new today. I also went to Wiki for further study. The explanation makes sense, however, my follow-up question would then be; does that poly affect the performance of the driver? I am VERY careful about using hard limiters on my amps, and watch my gain staging and outputs like a hawk. I use analogue and electronic crossovers for redundancy. With this level of protection, do I really NEED that poly? Inquiring minds want to know, because I bought a custom made sub cab that does very well, without a poly.

The contact resistance will be so small that it will be insignificant compared to the speaker impedance (Z). 

Note: IF this were a capacitor, in series, it would not create a low pass circuit... it would be a simple high pass circuit which would attempt to turn the sub into a tweeter.

I believe that the breakers built into my Yorkvilles have saved them from from destruction several times.  I would leave these in place.

Think of them as an "I need more rig alert"

<edit typo>
« Last Edit: April 05, 2014, 10:41:20 am by Tim Perry »
Logged

Jeff Bankston

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2268
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2014, 03:51:34 am »

poly wanna cracker !
Logged

John Roberts {JR}

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16379
  • Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2014, 09:53:36 am »

Interesting! I learned something new today. I also went to Wiki for further study. The explanation makes sense, however, my follow-up question would then be; does that poly affect the performance of the driver? I am VERY careful about using hard limiters on my amps, and watch my gain staging and outputs like a hawk. I use analogue and electronic crossovers for redundancy. With this level of protection, do I really NEED that poly? Inquiring minds want to know, because I bought a custom made sub cab that does very well, without a poly.

In a perfect world the polyfuse is an extra part in the audio path and adds a small cold series resistance. In the real world (we live in) if you don't abuse the speaker you will never know the polyfuse is there, if you do overdrive your speaker, it will start working again after it cools down.

JR 
Logged
Don't tune your drums half-ass. Listen to what a properly "cleared" drum sounds like.   http://circularscience.com/

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Capacitor necessary in a sub enclosure?
« Reply #9 on: April 03, 2014, 09:53:36 am »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.148 seconds with 22 queries.