ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Building compact system with a pair of JBL-525's and JBL 515's. Advice?  (Read 2914 times)

Tim Williams

Hello-

Just picked up a pair of JBL-525's and JBL 515's from a friend who is selling the PA from his bar. The price was right and they are VERY lightweight. Lightweight system is a priority for me, as I have a bad back.

The previous owner had these running full-range and daisy chained together. No subs. He powered all four speakers with one Crown XTI-4000

What amps do you think I should mate these up to? I'm a musician and often provide PA for the band, plus I run sound at weddings and concert-in-the-park gigs and the like. Nothing huge, but I would like bigger beefier sound than I was getting in the past.

I own a stack of amps- not sure if any of these are appropriate:

2 QSC-RMX2540
1 QSC-RMX1450
2 QSC-Gx5
1 Crown Microtech 1200
1 Crown Comtech 200

And I have a few random subs; 1 Mackie 1801 (powered 18) and a passive pair of Peavey single 18 cabinets. (old, but light!)

Here are the specs on the JBL MRX Speakers

MRX-515: 8 ohms, single 15 and a horn
Power capacity: Continuous / Program / Peak): 400W/800W/1600W

MRX-515: 4 ohms, dual 15 and a horn
Power Capacity (Continuous / Program / Peak): 800 W / 1600 W / 3200 W

Thank you for any suggestions/tips you might have!

Cecil Abrego

Re: Building compact system with a pair of JBL-525's and JBL 515's. Advice?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2014, 11:00:44 am »

I used to run a pair of 525 and a pair of 512 one speaker per channel on an ep4000 which is basically a knock off of your 2450s.  They sounded really good and I never had any problems at all.  You can hear them here  www.youtube.com/fairviewrocks

Tim Williams

« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2014, 01:28:12 pm »