ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 ... 9   Go Down

Author Topic: Motorized Faders - Jumping off track?  (Read 38025 times)

Frank DeWitt

• LBP DI Box
Re: Motorized Faders - Jumping off track?
« Reply #30 on: January 11, 2014, 10:38:25 PM »

Making the pulley with one flange allows them to use a simple two part mold. The mold costs less and the parts are made faster then if it had two flanges.  It isn't good design but it does save money. 

(I am a mechanical designer, I use timing belts often, and I have designed plastic parts and there molds. I have never seen this done.)
Not to Code

Bob Leonard

• Boston, MA USA
« Reply #31 on: January 12, 2014, 01:36:14 AM »

Having been an experimental machinist/model maker for about 20 years in my previous life I'll state for a fact that you could certainly produce the same part with two flanges using a 2 piece mold. Poor design is the only answer here. If I owned an X32 I would be mighty tempted to remove every sprocket and either Loctite it back on, or put a 2-56 set screw in every one of them.
BOSTON STRONG........
Proud Vietnam Veteran

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

Steve M Smith

• Isle of Wight - England
« Reply #32 on: January 12, 2014, 03:58:20 AM »

Bob is right.  It is common practice to have a flange both sides on drive belts.

The Behringer design appears to use the surface of whatever is below the gear to retain the belt.  This will probably work 99.99% of the time but if the gear is only a press fit on the shaft, a small quantity are going to move upwards at some point and cause a problem.

Steve.

John Roberts {JR}

• Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
« Reply #33 on: January 12, 2014, 08:40:55 AM »