ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Service/distro sizing  (Read 6841 times)

Stephen Swaffer

Service/distro sizing
« on: December 22, 2013, 10:36:11 PM »

Is there a "rule of thumb" you use to determine service/distro ampacity?  Or, how many amps do you run on a 20 amp circuit before you start to get concerned?  As an electrician, I know that I can put 2400 watts of heat/lighting on a 20 amp circuit before I trip a breaker and I should only load the circuit to 80% for a continuous load, but I routinely run a trio of QSC 1450's plus mixer/processor/etc on a 20 amp circuit and have never tripped one-even when I push things.

Just curious how to gage for future use-I am often in a position to install what is needed-but just doing more and throwing money at a project isn't the right way either-nor do I really like the idea of plugging stuff in until it starts to trip breakers and backing off!

I assume that given the variety of program material there is no hard and fast rule...
Steve Swaffer

Mike Sokol

• Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Re: Service/distro sizing
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2013, 11:08:59 PM »

I assume that given the variety of program material there is no hard and fast rule...

Now I'm not an expert on power amp design, but I'm a student of tripping circuit breakers. I'm sure others here will pitch in with more details, but here's my spin on this.

I would say that your two main factors to consider are #1) amplifier power supply technology and #2) music crest factor.