ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is measurement a useful tool even in smaller venues?  (Read 2281 times)

Liam Flaherty

Is measurement a useful tool even in smaller venues?
« on: December 16, 2013, 08:03:03 am »

I'm relatively new to measurement of systems but have been trying to do a lot of research recently and hopefully will incorporate it into my setup soon. My question is do you think measurement in smaller club venues (max 300 cap.) as a visiting engineer for system tuning is a worthwhile process or is it more suited to larger venues?

Appreciate any feedback as I'm still new to a lot of this! Cheers!

Mark McFarlane

• Middle East
    • Arkose Records
Re: Is measurement a useful tool even in smaller venues?
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2013, 09:41:04 am »

If you have the time to measure, it can be helpful to understand the system and room interactions.  The low frequencies can be particularly problematic in smaller spaces, as can the position of the speakers,...

Measure if you can.
Mark McFarlane
ARKOSERECORDS
Turn down what's too loud.

Jay Barracato

• Solomons, MD
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2013, 09:42:14 am »

I use my measurement system for every gig I have room to set up a laptop. When visiting a venue, the measurement is more to check their tuning rather than to tune it myself. This is a dual channel measurement and you may not actually have a chance to make this type of noise.

I find having the spectrograph (one channel) patched to a cue bus to be extremely valuable during sound check and the show itself.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk

Jay Barracato

Nicolas Poisson

• Paris, France
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2013, 07:27:43 am »

I work in a very small venue (50 pers!). I made tons of measurements. It definitely helped me. I think the system does sound better now than if I had never performed measurements.