ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: bypassing power strip switch  (Read 7463 times)

Mark McFarlane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Middle East
    • Arkose Records
bypassing power strip switch
« on: December 11, 2013, 01:58:02 pm »

I thought I posted this an hour ago, don't see it. Sorry if it shows up twice.

Had a nice young lad switch off my digital console a few weeks ago in the middle of a show.  My bad, switches gotta go.
Opened them up and there are some electronics covering the switch. Furman says EMI/RF rejection.

Shall I cut away the EMI/RF crap and bypass the switch, or just jumper the black wire from the breaker over to the first outlet?

Logged
Mark McFarlane
ARKOSERECORDS
Turn down what's too loud.

Corey Scogin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1155
  • Birmingham, AL, US
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2013, 02:09:21 pm »

Shall I cut away the EMI/RF crap and bypass the switch, or just jumper the black wire from the breaker over to the first outlet?

Seems to be a user preference thing.  I would leave it in and just cut the black wires from the breaker/relay and wire-nut them together if there's room.

I have a few consumer grade power strips (not surge protectors) for the occasional guitarist who has many pedals but no power distribution for them.  I have removed the switches from all of them for the reason you mention.
Logged

Lyle Williams

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1556
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2013, 02:12:27 pm »

I would just glue/tape/etc a cover over the switch preventing it from being switched off.

A direct jumper would do the job, but leave the equipment in a state where it looks like it can be switched off, but can't.  100% safe for you, a little less so for others.

Logged

John Roberts {JR}

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16522
  • Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2013, 03:16:08 pm »

+1 mechanically disable the switch, so there is no confusion.

JR
Logged
Don't tune your drums half-ass. Listen to what a properly "cleared" drum sounds like.   http://circularscience.com/

Mark McFarlane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Middle East
    • Arkose Records
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2013, 03:23:30 pm »

+1 mechanically disable the switch, so there is no confusion.

JR

Shall I leave the RFI circuit in place or cut it out?  It's hard to tell exactly what it is or how it is wired, but it looks maybe like a capacitor but I can't tell if its just inline with the neutral or somehow connected to the hot.  If I bypass the switch I'm not sure what that will do to the EMI/RF circuitry.

I have 4 of these to modify, I guess I can better dissemble one and see exactly what is going on.
Logged
Mark McFarlane
ARKOSERECORDS
Turn down what's too loud.

Corey Scogin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1155
  • Birmingham, AL, US
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2013, 03:36:40 pm »

Shall I leave the RFI circuit in place or cut it out?  It's hard to tell exactly what it is or how it is wired, but it looks maybe like a capacitor but I can't tell if its just inline with the neutral or somehow connected to the hot.  If I bypass the switch I'm not sure what that will do to the EMI/RF circuitry.

I have 4 of these to modify, I guess I can better dissemble one and see exactly what is going on.

Mark,

To clarify, in the picture, the switch is underneath the circuit board and the breaker is to the bottom left with a ground wire attached to it, correct?  I think I was looking at it wrong.
Logged

John Roberts {JR}

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16522
  • Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #6 on: December 11, 2013, 04:20:05 pm »

Why open it up and remove anything... ? Just glue the switch permanently on...

JR
Logged
Don't tune your drums half-ass. Listen to what a properly "cleared" drum sounds like.   http://circularscience.com/

Jay Barracato

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2025
  • Solomons, MD
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2013, 07:43:17 pm »

Why open it up and remove anything... ? Just glue the switch permanently on...

JR

A glob of hot melt glue will keep the switch where you want it but can be popped off with a knife blade if you need to.

Of course you may want to get one of the high temp types for that desert sun.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk

Logged
Jay Barracato

Mark McFarlane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Middle East
    • Arkose Records
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2013, 10:43:58 pm »

Why open it up and remove anything... ? Just glue the switch permanently on...

JR

That's way too easy...  I'll see what kind of mess I can make with hot glue, or try some superglue otherwise...  Thanks Jay and John.
Logged
Mark McFarlane
ARKOSERECORDS
Turn down what's too loud.

Mark McFarlane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Middle East
    • Arkose Records
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2013, 01:56:15 am »

A glob of hot melt glue will keep the switch where you want it but can be popped off with a knife blade if you need to.

Of course you may want to get one of the high temp types for that desert sun.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk


The hotmelt glue worked great, thanks Jay.  I didn't do a glob, I went around the perimeter of the switch. May not come off easy, but not really an issue for me.  I saw two people yesterday try to push the switches during setup for a festival :)
Logged
Mark McFarlane
ARKOSERECORDS
Turn down what's too loud.

Jonathan Johnson

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 3084
  • Southwest Washington (state, not DC)
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2013, 01:58:06 am »

The hotmelt glue worked great, thanks Jay.  I didn't do a glob, I went around the perimeter of the switch. May not come off easy, but not really an issue for me.  I saw two people yesterday try to push the switches during setup for a festival :)

Sounds like a workable solution. I wouldn't do anything to defeat the breaker; it's protecting the line cord which probably has a lower ampacity than the circuit it's plugged into.
Logged
Stop confusing the issue with facts and logic!

Mike Sokol

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3360
  • Lead instructor for the No~Shock~Zone
    • No~Shock~Zone Electrical Safety
Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #11 on: December 18, 2013, 01:42:03 pm »

I saw two people yesterday try to push the switches during setup for a festival :)
That's too funny!!!  ;D
Logged
Mike Sokol
mike@noshockzone.org
www.NoShockZone.org

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: bypassing power strip switch
« Reply #11 on: December 18, 2013, 01:42:03 pm »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.04 seconds with 24 queries.