Sound Reinforcement - Forums for Live Sound Professionals - Your Displayed Name Must Be Your Real Full Name To Post In The Live Sound Forums > AC Power and Grounding

AFCI Breakers

(1/2) > >>

Dennis Wiggins:
First off; I am not an electrician.

I found this, regarding AFCI breakers in residences.  I don't know what is code for commercial space. 

210.12(B)Dwelling Units.

All 120-volt, single-phase, 15- and 20-ampere branch circuits supplying outlets installed in dwelling unit family rooms, dining rooms, living rooms, parlors, libraries, dens, bedrooms, sun rooms, recreation rooms, closets, hallways , or similar rooms or areas shall be protected by a listed arc-fault circuit interrupter, combination-type installed to provide protection of the branch circuit.

Note 1:  Not all states require this.

Note 2:  AFCIs resemble a GFCI/RCD (Ground-Fault Circuit Interrupt/Residual-Current Device) breaker in that they both have a test button although each has a different function. GFCIs and RCDs are designed to protect against electrical shock of a person, while AFCIs are primarily designed to protect against electrical fires caused by arcing. Some outlets must be protected by both a GFCI and an AFCI, such as an outlet near a wet bar in a family room.

-Dennis

Stephen Swaffer:

AFCIs have not been required by the NEC in commercial spaces yet-their purpose is completely different than GFCIs-and they do the most good when used with NM cable wiring-wiring that is prone to being damaged by nails or screws usually not used in commercial applications.  I haven't yet read the 2014 code but I am hearing that virtually every receptacle in residential will be required to be either AFCI or GFCI protected depending on the location.

They do cost more of course-and I have personally dealt with situations where AFCI's would have been very helpful-but I am not going to argue for or against them!

Mike Sokol: