ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: PA record/install schematic  (Read 4869 times)

Glen Kelley

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 103
  • El Paso, TX
    • The University of Texas at El Paso
Re: PA record/install schematic
« Reply #10 on: December 04, 2013, 12:41:37 pm »

I generally just use Visio because it is easy and it can look pretty good if you put in all the right details.

I also use Visio for Audio/Video/Control/Power line-diagrams. You can make pretty sophisticated drawings. It takes time to create a library of shapes. Visio ~can~ import manufacturer's CAD drawings of their gear, which are pretty readily available, but it makes for pretty large files and some take forever to convert (and move shapes after converting). There are some tricks. In theory, you can attach all kinds of properties to Visio shapes (ie. connector types, # of RU, etc.) if you want to take the time. This information would be available in a report, which might work really well for you. (alternately, you can attach an Excel 'object' to a shape, so that clicking on a shape links to a regularly updated Excel file for your settings/changes etc.) 

Visio has become a pretty powerful program. For floor plans and elevation drawings, it doesn't work as well,since it sometimes scales things strangely.

I work for a university, so both Visio and AutoCAD are essentially free, while Stardraw or D-tools would cost quite a bit. CAD has a steep learning curve, so Visio it is!  PM if you would like info on how we have used Visio. Drawing out a complete system diagram is a great exercise. You learn a lot about how your system is 'actually' working! Haha!
Logged

Jerome Malsack

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1336
Re: PA record/install schematic
« Reply #11 on: December 22, 2013, 07:49:33 am »

Another good consideration would be today's digital photography.  Take pictures and place in word document as you walk through the system from mic to speakers. 
Logged

Steve M Smith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3243
  • Isle of Wight - England
Re: PA record/install schematic
« Reply #12 on: December 22, 2013, 11:22:48 am »

It looks to be over $4000.00 though!  Is there a lesser version that does 2D diagram type work?

Sorry for the late reply.  ProgeCAD is a free AutoCAD clone which is very good.


Steve.
Logged

Craig Hauber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 611
  • Mondak Sound Design - Plentywood MT/Grenora ND
Re: PA record/install schematic
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2013, 05:58:44 pm »

Sorry for the late reply.  ProgeCAD is a free AutoCAD clone which is very good.


Steve.

Looks quite workable.  Been playing with the demo, but it is definitely NOT free.  Pro is around $400, Architectural is around $1700 and the mac version is around $800 so the prices are an improvement from autodesk (and for what we need, most of their packages are way overkill anyways)

For truly "free" there is an open source project I've found called LibreCAD that actually seems to work -and runs in Linux as well as there are ports for windows and OSX.  (It's actually in the standard repositories for Ubuntu and Debian)  There is still development needed of course (as with most open-source projects) But anyone is more than welcome to join the team and work on it :-)
Logged
Craig Hauber
Mondak Sound Design
-Live PA
-Installs
-Theatre

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: PA record/install schematic
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2013, 05:58:44 pm »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.038 seconds with 24 queries.