ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Down

Author Topic: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?  (Read 11826 times)

Riley Casey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1553
Re: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?
« Reply #20 on: November 19, 2013, 11:12:40 am »

The largest analog console I had inventory was a PM3500-48+4. Took six big guys to get it deployed safely.  This was accompanied by two or three outboard racks and a 500 lb, 30x30x30 cube of 300 ft 52+12+10/4 AC snake.  All in all I'm pretty good with my 72 channel CL5, to RIO boxes and my 15 lbs reel of 100 meter fiber - even carrying around that airspace.   :P ;D

Why haven't the console manufacturers also embraced this need? Trucking around unnecessary airspace sucks.

Chris Hindle

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1957
  • Montreal, Quebec, Canada, Earth, Sol System,......
Re: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?
« Reply #21 on: November 19, 2013, 12:08:27 pm »

The largest analog console I had inventory was a PM3500-48+4. Took six big guys to get it deployed safely.  This was accompanied by two or three outboard racks and a 500 lb, 30x30x30 cube of 300 ft 52+12+10/4 AC snake.  All in all I'm pretty good with my 72 channel CL5, to RIO boxes and my 15 lbs reel of 100 meter fiber - even carrying around that airspace.   :P ;D
not +1, but + infinity.
Who the hell misses 500lb boards, and all the gack that goes with them ?
I was at the Solotech store late last year, and sales dude tried to set me up with a PM4K tour pack. $3.000 delivered to my shop.
Ya right. No thanks dude. I'm over 55 now, think I want to huff that monstrosity around ??
Chris.
« Last Edit: November 19, 2013, 12:14:01 pm by Chris Hindle »
Logged
Ya, Whatever. Just throw a '57 on it, and get off my stage.

Jim McKeveny

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1115
Re: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?
« Reply #22 on: November 19, 2013, 12:52:49 pm »


Still smells of "good enough/close enough".
Logged

No Name

  • SR Forums
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • Stage Electrics UK
Re: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?
« Reply #23 on: November 21, 2013, 09:15:21 am »

My vote is for a nose cone.  I prefer having a nose cone on any console that merits castors on the case.  Makes the case easier to handle and lighter to tip.  All of our CL consoles have nose cone style cases.  We also put a couple of small 2u Rack bays below the console for a drawer, FOH Dante Switches or CD player.  See below photos.






Cheers,
Adam
Logged
Kind Regards,
Adam Finlayson

Justice C. Bigler

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2560
  • back home in Oklahoma
    • My homepage
Re: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?
« Reply #24 on: November 21, 2013, 07:18:14 pm »

Bwwuaahhhh....! That tilt stand needs about 24" inches cut off of it.
Logged
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Dave Gunnell

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 56
Re: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?
« Reply #25 on: December 02, 2013, 01:01:58 pm »

...We also put a couple of small 2u Rack bays below the console for a drawer, FOH Dante Switches or CD player.

Great pics, Adam.  Thanks for the ideas.

Question on your network switches--do you leave them installed in the rack bays of your CL5 case?  If you leave them installed, how do you access the RJ-45 ports?  I am trying to figure out if I want a primary and/or redundant switch to live in the doghouse, under the console as you described, or in a separate rack...
Logged

No Name

  • SR Forums
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 44
    • Stage Electrics UK
Re: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?
« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2013, 03:41:58 am »

Great pics, Adam.  Thanks for the ideas.

Question on your network switches--do you leave them installed in the rack bays of your CL5 case?  If you leave them installed, how do you access the RJ-45 ports?  I am trying to figure out if I want a primary and/or redundant switch to live in the doghouse, under the console as you described, or in a separate rack...

Each CL5 has a primary and secondary switch permanently mounted in the case below the desk.  These connect through to an Ethercon patch panel in the doghouse.  I have a couple of desks in the warehouse tomorrow for pre-show so will get some photos for you! 

Adam 
Logged
Kind Regards,
Adam Finlayson

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: New CL5 Console CaseóNosecone or Not?
¬ę Reply #26 on: December 03, 2013, 03:41:58 am ¬Ľ


Pages: 1 2 [3]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.043 seconds with 21 queries.