ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Vertec rigging  (Read 5774 times)

Theo_Christofore

Vertec rigging
« on: November 08, 2013, 04:55:22 pm »

So I am pretty new to the line array scene.
My company has a new rig consisting of 8 vt4888. 4 per side, with 6 stsx828 on bottom. I am still working on some configuration and wiring, but I plan to have it up and running in the next couple of months.
Which brings me to the most important part... Getting them in the air! I have my eyes on a pair of genie st-25, but I have heard it can be tough to get more than 6-8 boxes per side, as the main support can get in the way of angling the boxes. Obviously I only am running 4 per side to start, but with plans of expanding, as well as renting if needed. The system will mostly be outdoors for regional summer festivals. We have smaller setups for indoor gigs, and have a local installation contract as well. So just to give you an idea, the vertec rig will only be coming out a hand full of times per season. Hopefully more as time goes on and we are adding more boxes etc.

What I am seeking is a little advice.
What are some experiences with the st25 lift and vertec boxes?
Should I be looking at different tower options?
I have the JBl array frames - what is the safest/most cost effective way to rig them to the genie forks? Spansets? Hardware?
**What seems to be the streamline way for setup and teardown?**
One by one? Or hoisting the whole line at once?

I have thought about getting manual chain hoists. But then I'm back to finding proper hardware. The genie seems to come low enough to the ground that there could be an easier solution.

Of course this would all make a little more sense to me if I had the genie in my shop. But I would hate to pay for this insane freight shipping, only to find out there could have been a better way.