ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R? *ANSWERED*  (Read 4821 times)

Rich Barrett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R? *ANSWERED*
« on: October 23, 2013, 05:14:27 pm »

I just upgraded my ROM to v2.16 from v1.0 -> very nice! And then I saw those empty 32p RAM sockets and thought how nice it would be to max out my onboard mem ... for pennies on the dollar I'm sure!

Can't find anything online and no answer back from the supplier who I bought my ROM chips from (that look like reflashes they made) - wondering if anyone knows what types of mem chips will work in there? Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 28, 2013, 10:18:32 pm by Rich Barrett »
Logged

Scott Helmke

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1623
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2013, 06:27:58 pm »

What exactly would the extra memory do for your console?
Logged

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2579
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2013, 07:53:48 pm »

What exactly would the extra memory do for your console?

I believe it is possible to expand the memory in order to increase the on board automation capability.  I remember once reading something about this, but never needed to mess with mine as I used the on board automation minimally...
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Rich Barrett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2013, 08:12:04 pm »

What exactly would the extra memory do for your console?

Let's me save more automation scenes ... you know, fader positions, eq, channel on / off, etc. Will I ever use them? Who knows but those old school 32 pin IC's are dirt cheap today so why not?

FYI - Another upside from the v2.16 upgrade is it compresses the saved data better by 50% -> in v1.0 I had 64 scenes I could save with 512k mem. In v2.16 I get 96 scenes. :D
Logged

Rich Barrett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 51
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2013, 08:14:36 pm »

I believe it is possible to expand the memory in order to increase the on board automation capability.  I remember once reading something about this, but never needed to mess with mine as I used the on board automation minimally...

Yamaha called me back today!!! Just after I posted my last post. They got an email I sent to support a cpl weeks ago about a question I had and while I had them on the phone, I asked them about the memory chips.

They've have to do some research and are calling me back so I'll post the answer here!
Logged

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6807
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2013, 10:15:29 pm »

The ability to address the RAM will depend on the OS. The ability to use the additional RAM will depend on the programs running upon the OS. In other words, the OS may address the RAM but the routines used for control functions may not run above a certain address in RAM.

At the very least the speed of the OS will be enhanced if it will address the additional RAM, and that will enhance performance overall.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........
Proud Vietnam Veteran

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4284
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2013, 10:24:00 pm »

The ability to address the RAM will depend on the OS. The ability to use the additional RAM will depend on the programs running upon the OS. In other words, the OS may address the RAM but the routines used for control functions may not run above a certain address in RAM.

At the very least the speed of the OS will be enhanced if it will address the additional RAM, and that will enhance performance overall.
Not sure that's true in embedded systems like the Yamaha software.  They are governed by the system clock, and don't have any kind of caching function that differentiates between fast and slow storage like a full computer OS has. 
Logged

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6807
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2013, 10:37:22 pm »

You're probably right Tom. I've never looked at the OS on those boards. Many "MINI" OS based systems are designed to use as little code as possible reducing costs all around. Think back to DOS and 8K RAM. A lot got done with some pretty small systems. I'm just thinking that if the board has additional slots for RAM, maybe the Yamaha OS will address it.

One easy way to find out is to load the banks with RAM and monitor the POST during power up. If it see's and counts the RAM then no harm and no foul. Run the board and see what happens. If the board remains stable, well, live long and prosper.

Speaking of which, back to the game for me.
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........
Proud Vietnam Veteran

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4284
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2013, 07:21:25 am »

You're probably right Tom. I've never looked at the OS on those boards. Many "MINI" OS based systems are designed to use as little code as possible reducing costs all around. Think back to DOS and 8K RAM. A lot got done with some pretty small systems. I'm just thinking that if the board has additional slots for RAM, maybe the Yamaha OS will address it.

One easy way to find out is to load the banks with RAM and monitor the POST during power up. If it see's and counts the RAM then no harm and no foul. Run the board and see what happens. If the board remains stable, well, live long and prosper.

Speaking of which, back to the game for me.
I think the better analogy here is the extra RAM behaves like a larger hard disk. No speed increase, just more storage for automation data. I assume it's battery-backed RAM. The M7 has a RAM count on boot up, I've never seen one on my 01v's, but maybe there's one somewhere.
Logged

Bob Leonard

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6807
  • Boston, MA USA
Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2013, 07:49:36 am »

Has the OP received an answer yet?
Logged
BOSTON STRONG........
Proud Vietnam Veteran

I did a gig for Otis Elevator once. Like every job, it had it's ups and downs.

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: 32p memory IC's to upgrade the RAM in a Yamaha 02R?
« Reply #9 on: October 27, 2013, 07:49:36 am »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.04 seconds with 24 queries.