ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Wharfdale EQ specifies balanced w/ ground disconnected on one connector?!?!  (Read 12030 times)

Rich Barrett

I'm new to professional audio and all the technical intricacies that comes with it - that said I just bought a used Wharfdale WPG-331 graphic eq to pull down some specific frequencies on my nasally sounding voice. I do a talk show podcast.

That said, the manual specifies the BEST way to connect inputs and outputs to the unit is to make a TRS cable BUT leave the shield / ground disconnected on the Wharfdale input side. On the output you do the opposite; leave the ground disconnected on the side that plugs into whatever device the Wharfdale is outputting to. (the XLR outs get the same treatment)

They go on to say if you hear line hum go ahead and connect the shield / grounds.

This makes no sense to me as I thought the 3 conductor balanced cable was by design the way to reduce / eliminate line noise by equalizing all unwanted potentials? Is this method unique or pretty normal when connecting professional audio gear such as eq's?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 18, 2013, 01:16:27 PM by Rich Barrett »

John Roberts {JR}

• Hickory, Mississippi, USA
    • Resotune

:o :o :o

Not a good sign for the integrity of the rest of the audio path.

JR
Cancel the "cancel culture". Do not participate in mob hatred.

Rich Barrett

:o :o :o

Not a good sign for the integrity of the rest of the audio path.

JR

Not a good sign? Please explain ...

And my signal path is;
out: Yamaha 02R (insert) -> Ebtech LLS-8 -> Wharfdale
in: Wharfdale -> Ebtech LLS-8 -> Yamaha 02R (insert)

the ebtech is a transformer based line level converter (ts -> trs + trs ->ts) and noise eliminator.

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA

Not a good sign? Please explain ...

And my signal path is;