ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4   Go Down

Author Topic: Grounding to the neutral bar?  (Read 30053 times)

Jeff Bankston

Re: Grounding to the neutral bar?
« Reply #20 on: September 19, 2013, 08:44:24 PM »

i am a commercial journeyman electrician. yes you connect the ground to the neutral bus "IF" theres no other ground buss. the neutral is always connected at the service via the "neutral bonding jumper" aka "neutral disconnect" jumper which is either a lenght of wire or a short piece of buss bar.

Jonathan Johnson

• Southwest Washington (state, not DC)
« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2013, 01:23:31 AM »

I once measured the "ground" voltage between two sides of a large warehouse (1,000,000 square feet or so) and found there was a 5 volt difference, even with all those I-beams interconnecting everything. The currents involved must have been HUGE, but was never noticed plugging in single piece of gear.

Consider all the environmental sources of electromagnetic radiation. Just the sun beating down on a metal building represents an enormous amount of energy. Then you have the magnetism of the earth itself. (From this perspective, man-made EMF is miniscule.) This EMF energy can be demodulated by the steel in the building, resulting in the voltages you see. And yes, considering how low the resistance between two points in that warehouse must be, that does represent a huge amount of current, possibly hundreds of amps.

But if you look at the cross-sectional area of conductor involved (that is, the steel of the building), it's also huge. But if you take a fraction of that area -- say, the area of an 18 AWG wire -- the current flowing through that fractional area is also fractional and may only be a few milliamps or less.

That doesn't mean you won't have problems (as Mike found out).
Stop confusing the issue with facts and logic!

Jim McKeveny