ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Drum Mic Cable Lengths?  (Read 12900 times)

Alec Spence

• Herts, UK
Re: Drum Mic Cable Lengths?
« Reply #10 on: May 13, 2013, 08:04:55 AM »

I decided that my optimum bundle was just 4, all with 1.25m tails on, typically used Kick, Snare, Tom1, Tom2.  Hat, Floor Tom & O/H I cable singly as their arrangements can vary so much.  All nice & tidy!

Definitely right angled Neutrik XLRs at the mic end.  For clip-on mics, I found that having the cable outlet set to 45%. (though e904s have an offset XLR, so can clash)

I second coloured rings.  Labelling gets confusing if you end up repurposing the loom.  Colours just work!

And yes, stick with conventional Neutrik XLRs (not the gold ones) and don't bother with Quad.

Jeff Bankston

« Reply #11 on: May 13, 2013, 08:06:35 AM »

i am a drummer and made my own drum mic cables and they are all different lenghts. i used a Dynamo label maker and put labels on the xlr's. example > 22 1 , 22 2 , 15 , 16, 18 , 20 , SN , HH , OR , OL and this makes connecting quick. i also use 90deg xlr's on the everything at the mic end except the bass drum mics.

brian maddox

• HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
« Reply #12 on: May 13, 2013, 02:52:16 PM »

Keep in mind the placement of the drum subsnake stagebox may need to change, and the layout of the drum kit may change with a lefty, and someday you might have to provide for Neal Peart.

does Whirlwind make a 52 channel Drum Drop Snake?   :)
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
[email protected]
Savannah, GA

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

George Dougherty

« Reply #13 on: May 13, 2013, 03:36:41 PM »