ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 ... 11   Go Down

Author Topic: [UPDATED] Need advice on given design for new facility  (Read 43637 times)

Justin Philip

Re: Need advice on given design for new facility
« Reply #40 on: April 11, 2013, 05:19:18 PM »

There is no way on earth the ACTUAL response can look this smooth at 2k with two sets of speakers running. You are being misled, through manipulation of the data/smoothing/etc. There will be comb filtering EVERYWHERE at 2k with two widely separated sources. That is simply the physics of sound, and cannot be overcome.  I've been watching this thread, and you've heard some good advice. It is time to ask for a demo.....walk the room with two line arrays pushing mono pink noise, and it will all become clear.....

Ed Walters
Ok.

I mean I know I am on a prosound forum..but I am not an expert at any of this. So what can I ask the designer to further investigate what's going on?

g'bye, Dick Rees

• Duluth
« Reply #41 on: April 11, 2013, 05:22:33 PM »

Ok.

I mean I know I am on a prosound forum..but I am not an expert at any of this. So what can I ask the designer to further investigate what's going on?

As he said:

Ask for a demo.  Demand sonic proof.
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Ivan Beaver

• Atlanta GA
« Reply #42 on: April 11, 2013, 06:37:42 PM »

As he said:

And during the demo-be sure to WALK the room and LISTEN.  Be sure to go to the extremes-sides-front-back etc.

Remember that a lot of people sit in those spots as well.

While in the middle of the room-listen to just ONE of the arrays-and then have the other one turned on. and hear the difference.

If the demo is only with a single array-then that is NOT representative of what the actual install will be.  That is part of the problem with two loudspeakers covering the same area.