ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: subs to mains  (Read 3073 times)

Cory Short

subs to mains
« on: March 25, 2013, 05:12:54 PM »

So I am a newbie to true full range live sound as I have just recently added subs.   I have a pair of 1600 watt passive subs with built in crossovers.  They can link directly to the tops which are 500 watt passive Yamaha mains.    My question is, how is the amount of power sent to the top determined??  What amplifier should I get that would adequately push each side...    or am I much better off getting one amp for the mains & a separate amp for the subs using an outboard xover??

Paul G. OBrien

Re: subs to mains
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2013, 11:20:16 AM »

My question is, how is the amount of power sent to the top determined?? 
It's determined by that built-in crossover which in every single example I have seen is very poor at separating frequencies between the subs and mains and offers no level balancing.

What amplifier should I get that would adequately push each side...    or am I much better off getting one amp for the mains & a separate amp for the subs using an outboard xover??
This method produces the best results by far, and there are a range of amplifiers now with built-in crossovers and DSP processing so you could power your complete PA from a single 2-channel amp if you don't need full stereo output. But much depends upon your budget for amplifiers and how much power your speakers can actually handle.. seismic audio is not a highly regarded brand and their published specs are optimistic, so post up the actual model numbers or a link so we can have a look and suggest appropriate amplifiers.

Cory Short

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2013, 04:15:39 PM »