ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Behringer B215D vs B115D, and other active speaker suggestions?  (Read 49735 times)

Paul Beer

Hi. I'm new to the forum so please let me know if I've posted in the wrong place or anything.

I run a small sound and lighting hire service in the UK and I have plenty of experience with budget sound (and lighting) gear, and I've been wanting to join a forum for some time now to discuss equipment. My equipment is always used for recorded music playback in party type environments - like family parties at local venues, by people who usually don't know anything about sound equipment, and I leave them to it so I need tough gear in case they abuse it.

I thought that before asking questions it would be better to add a bit of value first by giving you my reviews of a few bits of kit that I have used for some time.

Anyway, back to the subject of the post - my review of the Behringer offerings.

Behringer B215D
For around a year now I've had some Behringer B215D 15" active speakers. Overall I'm happy enough with them but there are a few issues. My main disappointment is that the bass response is not great. Compared to most other 15" speakers I've heard they roll off quite sharply - by ear I'd guess around 75 Hz but I've not actually tested that. The point is it's a very sharp roll off and anything below that just doesn't come out. I also find myself adding a bit of low EQ on the rear to get them to sound flat, and without it they do seem to be overly high-passed.

Another issue is that the design of them is incredibly rounded, so unless they are packed in to your vehicle by other gear when transporting them they roll around like crazy... unless they're in a case, which seems a bit excessive for a speaker of this value.