ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: LED flicker?  (Read 11449 times)

Jim Turner

• Calgary, Alberta... Canada eh!
LED flicker?
« on: February 16, 2013, 05:17:35 PM »

I'm a noob when it comes to LED lighting... I recently purchased two Chauvet 4 bar tri and an American DJ DMX operator 192 to control them. I'm experiencing a flickering as I fade between scenes, not a smooth transition as I had hoped.  What is causing this? The cheap lights or cheap console? I am planing to add more fixtures but would like to solve this issue first. Thanks for your input. Cheers!
smile & wave...

Paul G. OBrien

Re: LED flicker?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2013, 06:55:58 PM »

I'm willing to bet it's the fixtures because I have the same controller here and don't see any flicker with several different non Chauvet fixtures.

Josh Daws

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2013, 07:19:37 PM »

this is not a new issue, this has more to do with the specific LED's that the manufacturer has used. Chauvet is usually pretty good.

the flicker itself comes from the frequency that it is emitting at the time of how much power it is drawing (usually on a lower power/intensity). you will notice the amount it flicker will also differ on certain colors. you will also notice some fixtures won't seem to flicker but when you look at it on camera it will flicker.

when buying LED you will want to make sure that it is deemed flicker free...

Jim Turner

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2013, 05:31:35 AM »

Yea... it is most noticeable in the red at low intensities. So this is a common issue with budget fixtures? The form & price really made the 4 bar tri appealing but the flicker is hard to take. Any suggestions for a similar flicker free fixture? 
smile & wave...

Josh Daws

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2013, 09:14:13 AM »