ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Amps, Subs and confusion [quick help needed!]  (Read 9465 times)

Jasen Chung .

Amps, Subs and confusion [quick help needed!]
« on: December 24, 2012, 10:11:37 PM »

Happy Holidays Everyone, 

So I'm a hobbyist being asked to check a sound system for church and please correct me if I'm wrong, but as a rule of thumb shouldn't the amp be double the wattage as the speaker for efficiency? Then I saw the features of the amp and got a bit confused with the options

- I have 2 EAS S250Z that run at  1050W (4 ohm) and 525W (8 Ohms)
- The amp being used is a QSC PL325 that pushes 500W @8 Ohms/ 850W @4 Ohms/ 1250W @2 Ohms.

1) should we be getting a higher powered amp?
2) if budget doesn't permit, what is the best setting for max bass output?

Thanks in advance experts!

Ivan Beaver

• Atlanta GA
Re: Amps, Subs and confusion [quick help needed!]
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2012, 11:46:05 PM »

Happy Holidays Everyone, 

So I'm a hobbyist being asked to check a sound system for church and please correct me if I'm wrong, but as a rule of thumb shouldn't the amp be double the wattage as the speaker for efficiency? Then I saw the features of the amp and got a bit confused with the options

- The amp being used is a QSC PL325 that pushes 500W @8 Ohms/ 850W @4 Ohms/ 1250W @2 Ohms.

Thanks in advance experts!
Efficiency has nothing to do with it.

There is no "standard" rule for amp/speaker power-but the more "common" (whatever that is) standard is having an amp twice the size of the continuous rating of the loudspeaker.

HOWEVER this depends greatly on the actual usage-the dynamic range of the source material and so forth.

In some "heavy" cases (think long term dance club), an amp half the rating or equal to the continuous rating is a good choice-due to the long term heating.