ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rigging education and insurance  (Read 2637 times)

Kyle Malenfant

Rigging education and insurance
« on: October 18, 2012, 08:40:07 PM »

Greetings all,

I'm a fairly experienced SR engineer and owner of a small company handling small and midsized PA and DJ events. 

Recently I've become interested in learning more about rigging and flying small format speakers (for bars, gyms, meeting rooms, etc..) for the purposes of permanent install in such venues.

What are some resources that cold offer me the soft knowledge I need to get my feet wet and ultimately point me in the direction of hard knowledge - official training?  What certifications would I be looking at achieving?  I have general business liability insurance, but what other insurance would be needed when flying speakers above the heads of patrons?

I'm not attempting to do an install, but rather would like to educate myself and prepare for if the call comes in one day or in the event of expanding my operations.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 19, 2012, 01:48:32 AM by Kyle Malenfant »

Tim McCulloch

• SR Forums
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Rigging education and insurance
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2012, 02:15:43 PM »

Greetings all,

I'm a fairly experienced SR engineer and owner of a small company handling small and midsized PA and DJ events. 

Recently I've become interested in learning more about rigging and flying small format speakers (for bars, gyms, meeting rooms, etc..) for the purposes of permanent install in such venues.