ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Small PA setup - one simple question - plz help!  (Read 11772 times)

nolangray

Small PA setup - one simple question - plz help!
« on: November 15, 2012, 05:46:55 PM »

Hi, I'm an experienced musician, so i am pretty familiar with live sound setups. But I recently inherited some extra PA gear and my dad wants to get a small event DJ service going. Not a wild Dj setup with sl12's and everything, no mixing -just basically playing music just something to do small events and make some money on the side.

My question is about adding a sub, possibly a crossover, etc...  PLease don't hate on my gear, Its really just for the $$$ lol..

I am running 2 laptops to Behringer NOX202 mixer, then into a Behringer Sonic Exciter, Out to 2
Behringer EUROLIVE B210D powered speakers. What I'd like to do is add a sub, probably something cheap like
a Kustom PA112S Powered Sub.

The problem is my DJ mixer only has 2 -1/4 outputs, which I've been running 1 each to each speaker out of the sonic exciter (itonly has 2 outputs too).  Id like to add a powered sub, and here's the only options I can see that are possible with my knowledge:

#1 - only run my mains off 1 side, daisy chained. Then run the powered sub out the other side, which I assume would require a crossover to keep the high end out.

#2 - get a '2 RCAs to One 1 1/4"' cable and run the sub from the RCA Amp/Rec outs on my mixer, and continue to use the 2 main outs for the main speakers. Not sure if that will work, or the quality.

IS one of those ways correct?  OR is there something else I should consider??

any help would be great!!! Thanks

My Gear:

Jordan Wolf

Re: Small PA setup - one simple question - plz help!
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2012, 07:30:20 PM »

Hi Nolan,

Welcome to the forums!