ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c  (Read 18973 times)

Teddy Murphy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« on: November 12, 2012, 08:31:28 pm »

Ok, I understand the major difference in these is the internal pre's vs stage box.  What are the other differences here?  What would be the biggest reason for getting a pro 2c instead of a pro 1 and stage box?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 08:33:14 pm by Teddy Murphy »
Logged

Caleb Dueck

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1198
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2012, 08:37:47 pm »

MCA's, dedicated aux knobs, no layers on right faders, more dedicated faders.  Cost difference from Pro1 with DL251 to Pro2c is around what, $3k?  Pro1 only really makes sense if there is analog snake.

Logged
Experience is something you get right after you need it.

Teddy Murphy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2012, 08:41:03 pm »

MCA's, dedicated aux knobs, no layers on right faders, more dedicated faders.  Cost difference from Pro1 with DL251 to Pro2c is around what, $3k?  Pro1 only really makes sense if there is analog snake.

I can get a really good deal on a pro 1 and add the stage box at a later time. And I can't think of when I would really use MCA's unless I was mixing monitors with the console.  Do you think anyone touring would refuse this console based on those differences for a FOH console if I had the stage box?
« Last Edit: November 12, 2012, 08:47:43 pm by Teddy Murphy »
Logged

Thomas Lamb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 531
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2012, 09:50:31 pm »

I never used mca's until I did a show with a pro2c the other day and I think it's one of those things you don't miss because you've never had them. However, they are a really cool feature and can come in quite handy. Do you normally run monitors from FOH? If so the dedicated nobs for the monitors are a big deal IMHO. as far as people refusing it that all depends on your clientele. I think you have a level where pro 1or 2 are acceptable but most of those clients are also willing to accept a sc48, m7 or maybe even a Ls9 mostly due to comfort level. I don't know that The difference between a pro 1 or 2 will matter in that market.

I did play with the pro 2 this week and liked it a lot after about an hour. I spend a lot of time on AVID and Yamaha products and my biggest complaint in comparison is I think that the patchbay is a giant turd! Once I spend more time with it I'm sure ill get used to it but I don't thing there is a easier patch bay than the one in the D SHOW's.
Logged
bigTlamb

"If you suck on a functional analog desk, you'll really suck on a complex digital desk...." Dick Rees

Brian Wynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2012, 10:50:47 pm »

I never used mca's until I did a show with a pro2c the other day and I think it's one of those things you don't miss because you've never had them. However, they are a really cool feature and can come in quite handy. Do you normally run monitors from FOH? If so the dedicated nobs for the monitors are a big deal IMHO. as far as people refusing it that all depends on your clientele. I think you have a level where pro 1or 2 are acceptable but most of those clients are also willing to accept a sc48, m7 or maybe even a Ls9 mostly due to comfort level. I don't know that The difference between a pro 1 or 2 will matter in that market.

I did play with the pro 2 this week and liked it a lot after about an hour. I spend a lot of time on AVID and Yamaha products and my biggest complaint in comparison is I think that the patchbay is a giant turd! Once I spend more time with it I'm sure ill get used to it but I don't thing there is a easier patch bay than the one in the D SHOW's.
The Aux knobs are huge on the Pro2.  The area B is a good thing to have too.  The MCA function is useless in my opinion because I have never had anyone ask for more of all the drums or more of all the guitars.  It just doesn't happen.
If you have a analog snake then the Pro1 would make sense. 
I sold my Pro1 so that I could move to the Pro2c then I fell in to the X32 and never bought a Pro2c.  I just have a problem going to a CAT5 snake. And the X32 does a whole lot more than any of the Pro series desk's including the Pro3 - 6 - or 9.  BUT it doesn't sound as good as the Pro series it does sound better than the LS9 by far!
Logged

Peter Morris

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1295
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2012, 12:33:45 am »

....  And the X32 does a whole lot more than any of the Pro series desk's including the Pro3 - 6 - or 9.  ......

 :o  :-X
Logged

Teddy Murphy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2012, 09:14:57 am »

I do have several analog snakes in my inventory.  The reason behind this I that I am making the plunge into digital for my use and rental.  I rented digital this year enough that I feel I need to purchase.  I am also in a part of WV that has 2 other production company's that rent A LOT and are traveling 2 hours just to get one.  So, for my use, I want a Midas,  but the M7 is the most common rented in the area.  My budget allows me an M7 and a pro1 so I have two digital consoles in my inventory.  I found a really really great deal on an m7 demo  with full warranty for substantially less than a new M7 or SC48.
Logged

Thomas Lamb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 531
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2012, 11:13:54 am »

While the m7 is not my favorite desk it is fairly widely accepted. If your getting a good deal great. My last advice would be to look at your workload over the last year and see if this combination would have fit the bill most of the time. Like I said if YOU. Are the operator it doesn't matter what it is but if you are needing to meet even regional riders a LS9 might even be a better choice from a business perspective.
Logged
bigTlamb

"If you suck on a functional analog desk, you'll really suck on a complex digital desk...." Dick Rees

Brian Wynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2012, 02:04:24 pm »

:o  :-X

More Local I/O
Multitrack recording out of the box
USB recording
USB playback
Use of both parametric eq and graphic on your outputs
1/4" aux inputs
1/4" aux outputs
Single cat5 snake
Cost
Multiple ways to get to your aux sends

I'm not a Behringer fan but its hard to beat this desk for the money.
Logged

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1879
  • Washington, D.C.
Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2012, 02:45:59 pm »

Midas Pro doesn't have parametric on outputs? Really?
Logged

Brian Wynn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 205
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2012, 03:18:37 pm »

Midas Pro doesn't have parametric on outputs? Really?

It does but you have to pick between parametric or graphic.  They have a work around which doesn't allow you to pull the graphic up on the faders.  Or the other work around forces you to  use a Matrix for your outputs to get a limited parametric eq.
Logged

Peter Morris

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1295
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2012, 04:35:59 pm »

More Local I/O
Multitrack recording out of the box
USB recording
USB playback
Use of both parametric eq and graphic on your outputs
1/4" aux inputs
1/4" aux outputs
Single cat5 snake
Cost
Multiple ways to get to your aux sends

I'm not a Behringer fan but its hard to beat this desk for the money.

Pro 9

•   288 inputs x 294 outputs (max capacity) point-to-point routing anywhere within the Network
•   80 primary inputs
•   8 return inputs
•   Up to 104 simultaneous mix channels
•   16 Group/Aux & 16 Matrix - 32 Mixes in “monitor” mode
•   35 mix busses
•   10 VCAs
•   6 POPulation Groups
•   Up to 16 multi-channel FX engines
•   Up to 36 KT Graphic EQ’s - with optional DN9331 Rapide control
•   Configurable “Area B”

Pro 2

•   156 inputs x 166 outputs (max capacity) point-to-point routing anywhere within the Network
•   56 mic/line inputs with MIDAS mic preamps
•   64 simultaneous input processing channels
•   32 analogue outputs (including 2 stereo local monitor outputs)
•   3 AES3 outputs
•   2 AES3 inputs
•   27 sample-synchronous, phase-coherent mix buses
•   6 multi-channel FX engines
•   Up to 28 KLARK TEKNIK DN370 31-band Graphic EQs
•   8 VCA (Variable Control Association) groups
•   6 POPulation groups
•   192 MCA (Mix Control Association) groups
•   96kHz 40-bit floating-point processing throughout


X 32

•   32 inputs
•   16 mix busses
•   8 VCAs
•   Up to 16 Graphic EQs
•   48kHz 40-bit floating-point processing
Logged

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1879
  • Washington, D.C.
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #12 on: November 13, 2012, 06:13:19 pm »

It does but you have to pick between parametric or graphic.  They have a work around which doesn't allow you to pull the graphic up on the faders.  Or the other work around forces you to  use a Matrix for your outputs to get a limited parametric eq.

Weird. I can't think of any other desks I've used that are like this, off the top of my head.
Logged

Dave Barnett

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 92
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #13 on: November 13, 2012, 10:56:20 pm »

While the m7 is not my favorite desk it is fairly widely accepted. If your getting a good deal great. My last advice would be to look at your workload over the last year and see if this combination would have fit the bill most of the time. Like I said if YOU. Are the operator it doesn't matter what it is but if you are needing to meet even regional riders a LS9 might even be a better choice from a business perspective.

When would an LS9 ever be preferred over an M7 with regard to rider acceptance???
Logged

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2475
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #14 on: November 13, 2012, 11:18:59 pm »

When would an LS9 ever be preferred over an M7 with regard to rider acceptance???

Never.  But it is cheaper.  Which might still make it a better business decision....
Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21158
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2012, 12:04:51 am »

Never.  But it is cheaper.  Which might still make it a better business decision....

Yeah, but the UI sucks.  I can accept the "average Yamaha" sonics but I hate navigating it.  An 01V96 is faster and easier to get around on and it shares many of the same UI concepts.  Not sure exactly what it is that throws me off but I'd rather use a DM1000 or an expanded 01V96.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

brian maddox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 2475
  • HeyYahWon! ttsss! ttsss!
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #16 on: November 14, 2012, 09:08:31 am »

Yeah, but the UI sucks.  I can accept the "average Yamaha" sonics but I hate navigating it.  An 01V96 is faster and easier to get around on and it shares many of the same UI concepts.  Not sure exactly what it is that throws me off but I'd rather use a DM1000 or an expanded 01V96.

i actually had this same problem.  Their Centralogic is a pretty major departure from previous UIs.  i did get the hang of it fairly quickly, but you're right.  it was off putting at first.  And i, like you, am VERY comfortable on an 01v96.

Logged
"It feels wrong to be in the audience.  And it's too peopley!" - Steve Smith

brian maddox
bdmaudio@gmail.com

'...do not trifle with the affairs of dragons...

       ....for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup...'

Thomas Lamb

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 531
Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2012, 12:00:47 pm »

When would an LS9 ever be preferred over an M7 with regard to rider acceptance???

What I was trying to imply (going back to my original post) was that in some situations a ls9 may be preferred over a pro1. Simply because it would be much more comfortable to operate for many people.
Logged
bigTlamb

"If you suck on a functional analog desk, you'll really suck on a complex digital desk...." Dick Rees

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Midas pro 1 vs pro 2c
Β« Reply #17 on: November 14, 2012, 12:00:47 pm Β»


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.036 seconds with 24 queries.