ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3 4   Go Down

Author Topic: How to test jack for balanced/unbalanced  (Read 22896 times)

Steve Schow

How to test jack for balanced/unbalanced
« on: October 31, 2012, 11:11:09 PM »

I have a slightly odd question.  I have a piece of gear that I am uncertain whether it has balanced TRS or unbalanced TS output jacks on back.  The previous model had balanced TRS jacks, but this model does not state either way in the docs.  I need to run the cables a fair distance so I either have to know for sure they are balanced TRS, or else I will get a box to convert them to balanced before sending over the snake.

Can anyone help me figure out how to test the jacks to find out if they are balanced or unbalanced?

Please explain in novice terms as I am rather new to multimeters, etc.

Mark McFarlane

Re: How to test jack for balanced/unbalanced
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2012, 02:17:49 AM »

I have a slightly odd question.  I have a piece of gear that I am uncertain whether it has balanced TRS or unbalanced TS output jacks on back.  The previous model had balanced TRS jacks, but this model does not state either way in the docs.  I need to run the cables a fair distance so I either have to know for sure they are balanced TRS, or else I will get a box to convert them to balanced before sending over the snake.

Can anyone help me figure out how to test the jacks to find out if they are balanced or unbalanced?

Please explain in novice terms as I am rather new to multimeters, etc.