ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart  (Read 9329 times)

Tom Hester

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
  • Orange County, CA
Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« on: September 24, 2012, 06:12:35 pm »

Looking to upgrade my old Macbook Pro to a new Retina, with 16gig of ram and a SSD drive. My old MBP is a few OS(s) old, never updated. Basically my question is this;

Will I run into any issues putting my Smaart license on the new Mac? I assume its fine, but I use it almost daily and cant really afford the downtime.

Already realizing my USBPre (1) is not going to work with the new OS.
Logged

Preston Soper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2012, 09:14:27 pm »

Looking to upgrade my old Macbook Pro to a new Retina, with 16gig of ram and a SSD drive. My old MBP is a few OS(s) old, never updated. Basically my question is this;

Will I run into any issues putting my Smaart license on the new Mac? I assume its fine, but I use it almost daily and cant really afford the downtime.

Already realizing my USBPre (1) is not going to work with the new OS.

That will be a very efficient machine with the SSD & 16 gig of ram.
Buy as you wish it to always be thanks to the new Apple manufacturing design in the MBP RD.
The RAM is now soldered to the logic board, making future memory upgrades impossible and the battery is glued to the case.
The SSD isn’t upgradeable either (yet), It is a separate daughtercard, and may offer an upgrade in the future.
Transferring your license is very easy and shouldn't cause any delays in personal use.

http://www.rationalacoustics.com/files/Smaart7_Installation_ReadMe2_FINAL.pdf

From the Rational Website:

Moving a License to a New Computer or Reinstalling after an Upgrade
When you want to retire a computer from active use as a Smaart workstation and reclaim the activation used for that machine for your available installations pool, you will need to deactivate or “block” the Smaart installation on that machine. Deactivating an installation renders it unusable on that machine until/unless it is reactivated (we'll get to that in a moment).
Reformatting or replacing your computer's hard disk drive will cause your Smaart Machine ID to change, essentially making the program think that it's running on a new computer. You will need to deactivate Smaart from your computer prior to making any major hard disk reformats or replacements in order to reclaim the activation for that machine and allow for re-installation once the system changes are complete.
In both cases, you must deactivate before uninstalling Smaart from the machine completely.
Figure 4: Smaart's About Dialog
To deactivate a Smaart 7 installation go to the About dialog for the program and click the Deactivate Installation button. On a Windows PC, the About dialog is accessible from the help menu. On a Macintosh computer, select “About” from the File menu.
Clicking the Deactivate Installation button in the About window will take you to a screen asking you to confirm the deactivation. When you do so, Smaart will automatically attempt to register it with the my.rationalacoustics.com web site. If the attempt was successful you will get a confirmation message telling you that your deactivation was received and accepted. If not, you will see a screen similar to the one below.
Figure 5: Successful Deactivation Dialog
7
If Smaart is unable to connect to the web site for some reason, make a note of your block code and machine ID then open a Web browser and go to the my.rationalacoustics.com to confirm deactivation.
The process is as follows:
1. Login to your account at my.rationalacoustics.com and click the link for Your Software Licenses on the navigation bar at the top of the landing page.
2. Click on your Smaart 7 license and find the machine you want to deactivate in your list of current installations.
3. Click “[release]” in the Actions column.
4. Enter your Block Code from Smaart along with your name and e-mail address in the fields provided and click the Submit button. You should see your available installations increase by 1 following a successful deactivation.
Note that your machine ID and block code are also displayed a three activation screen that comes up if you attempt to run Smaart again after deactivation. So if you inadvertently closed the screen above without recording those numbers or write down one of them incorrectly, you can always get back to them. We recommend that you hold off on uninstalling Smaart on the deactivated machine until you have confirmed the deactivation, just in case.
Logged
Folks, We have reached our cruising altitude now, so I'm going to switch the seatbelt sign off. Feel free to move about as you wish, but please stay inside the plane till we land… It's a bit cold outside, and if you walk on the wing it affects the flight pattern.

Tom Hester

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
  • Orange County, CA
Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2012, 10:07:34 am »

That will be a very efficient machine with the SSD & 16 gig of ram.
Buy as you wish it to always be thanks to the new Apple manufacturing design in the MBP RD.
The RAM is now soldered to the logic board, making future memory upgrades impossible and the battery is glued to the case.
The SSD isn’t upgradeable either (yet), It is a separate daughtercard, and may offer an upgrade in the future.
Transferring your license is very easy and shouldn't cause any delays in personal use.


Thanks for the info.

As far as ram and HD space. I am using 80gigs currently, so i think 250gigs will be sufficient for the life of this machine. Hopefully 16g of ram is enough to get me through 3-4 years (average life span of past computers before I upgrade).


Logged

Mark McFarlane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Middle East
    • Arkose Records
Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2012, 04:21:12 pm »

Looking to upgrade my old Macbook Pro to a new Retina, with 16gig of ram and a SSD drive. My old MBP is a few OS(s) old, never updated. Basically my question is this;

Will I run into any issues putting my Smaart license on the new Mac? I assume its fine, but I use it almost daily and cant really afford the downtime.

Already realizing my USBPre (1) is not going to work with the new OS.

Smaart 6 for OSX, or an older Windows version?  FYI, Apple hasn't supported Windows XP under Bootcamp since Lion came out last year.  If you have XP installed already and upgrade OSX you are fine but with a new MacBook pro you can't install Windows XP using Apple default Bootcamp setup.  There may be a workaround, I don't know.

You might also check and make sure Smaart and your audio interface both work on Mountain Lion.  It's only been released for a month or so...  Probably not a problem, but worth a look.
Logged
Mark McFarlane
ARKOSERECORDS
Turn down what's too loud.

Rasmus Rosenberg

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 55
Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2012, 05:02:11 pm »

Preston,
What would you recommend an I5 or I7 ?? im in the process of upgrading too.
mvh
R
Logged

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3484
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2012, 05:43:05 pm »

I got the i7 as I was told it has better I/o and I use mine for multitrack recording.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Preston Soper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 45
Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2012, 08:25:54 pm »

Preston,
What would you recommend an I5 or I7 ?? im in the process of upgrading too.
mvh
R


Core i5 vs i7
 
Core i5-equipped systems will be less expensive than Core i7-equipped systems.
Essentially, the Core i7 processors have more capabilities than Core i3 and Core i5 CPUs.
For the most part, you'll get faster CPU performance from Core i7 than Core i5.
Most core i7 CPUs are quad-core processors, while Core i5 processors are primarily dual-core.
There are dual-core Core i7 processors, and in some desktops you may find quad-core Core i5 processors.
Hyperthreading allows the CPU to sort of do two things at a time on each core for a total of 4 things at once.
Dual core i7 (2 cores, possible 4 instructions at a time).
Quad Core i7 has four CPU cores, plus hyper threading to essentially do 8 things at once.
The i5 processor has a maximum of 6MB of (L3)cache onboard.
This is where the processor stores repeat instructions (for heavy calculations)
The i7 processor has anywhere from 8MB to 15MB of that same cache.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2012, 08:28:20 pm by Preston Soper »
Logged
Folks, We have reached our cruising altitude now, so I'm going to switch the seatbelt sign off. Feel free to move about as you wish, but please stay inside the plane till we land… It's a bit cold outside, and if you walk on the wing it affects the flight pattern.

Tom Hester

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 89
  • Orange County, CA
Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2012, 09:49:46 am »

Smaart 6 for OSX, or an older Windows version?  FYI, Apple hasn't supported Windows XP under Bootcamp since Lion came out last year.  If you have XP installed already and upgrade OSX you are fine but with a new MacBook pro you can't install Windows XP using Apple default Bootcamp setup.  There may be a workaround, I don't know.

You might also check and make sure Smaart and your audio interface both work on Mountain Lion.  It's only been released for a month or so...  Probably not a problem, but worth a look.


Windows is not an issue. I run Smaart 7 on OSX
Logged

Arthur Skudra

  • SR Forums
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 160
Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2012, 09:58:48 am »

Looking to upgrade my old Macbook Pro to a new Retina, with 16gig of ram and a SSD drive. My old MBP is a few OS(s) old, never updated. Basically my question is this;

Will I run into any issues putting my Smaart license on the new Mac? I assume its fine, but I use it almost daily and cant really afford the downtime.

Already realizing my USBPre (1) is not going to work with the new OS.
I recently bought a new 17" MBP i7 2.5 GHz, 16 GB Ram, Mountain Lion 10.8.2, and have yet to experience any problems running Smaart 7.4 with the Roland Octacapture.  It's fast!  I did an experiment a few weeks ago and ran 15 simultaneous mics into Smaart for analysis of an arena system, along with Parallels desktop running in the background controlling the DSP...handled it just fine with CPU to spare!  See my thread in the Rational forum on how to set it up.  I don't know what interface you're planning to use, but make sure it is compatible with what you're planning to use it with.
Logged

Arthur Skudra

  • SR Forums
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 160
Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2012, 10:02:45 am »

Smaart 6 for OSX, or an older Windows version?  FYI, Apple hasn't supported Windows XP under Bootcamp since Lion came out last year.  If you have XP installed already and upgrade OSX you are fine but with a new MacBook pro you can't install Windows XP using Apple default Bootcamp setup.  There may be a workaround, I don't know.

You might also check and make sure Smaart and your audio interface both work on Mountain Lion.  It's only been released for a month or so...  Probably not a problem, but worth a look.
XP runs perfectly fine on my new MBP either virtually via Parallels desktop, or in XP compatibility mode via Windows 7 running in bootcamp (you need Windows 7 professional to do this).  I have yet to see a need to run XP by itself in bootcamp.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Macbook Pro Retina and Smaart
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2012, 10:02:45 am »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.077 seconds with 24 queries.