ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....  (Read 16264 times)

Oscar Castro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« on: September 18, 2012, 12:56:44 pm »

What you guys are using and the how much it cost ,im looking for info about it.

Thanks
Logged

Mark McFarlane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1865
  • Middle East
    • Arkose Records
Re: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2012, 01:44:22 pm »

What you guys are using and the how much it cost ,im looking for info about it.

Thanks

Which Yamaha console?  Do you have open slots?
Logged
Mark McFarlane
ARKOSERECORDS
Turn down what's too loud.

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3259
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2012, 03:27:05 pm »

Keep in mind that the slots on the Yamaha desks (at least before the CL - I don't about them) only can do 16 ch each.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

dustin Bradley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2012, 04:08:43 pm »

I had the M7CL-48ES on my last tour.  It's a terrific console and the CAT5 snake was nice.  It's a hell of a lot lighter and easier to move around and wrangle.  We used the SB168's at the stage.  Patching was very easy and I never had any issues.
Logged
~ dustin Bradley

Oscar Castro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 35
Re: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2012, 04:56:06 pm »

Sorry, i have the LS9-32
Logged

dustin Bradley

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
Re: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2012, 05:01:15 pm »

Sorry, i have the LS9-32

I believe it would use the same SB168 heads at the stage.  Still, I love the digi snake.       :)
Logged
~ dustin Bradley

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4263
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2012, 05:02:09 pm »

Sorry, i have the LS9-32
It would likely be cheaper and easier to sell your LS9-32 and snake and put the money you would have spent on a 3rd party digital snake towards a board that was designed around one.  An A&H GLD system should be within reach, and may require less out of pocket cash than adding a digital snake to your current system.
Logged

kristianjohnsen

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1063
  • Lillehammer, Norway
    • Lillehammer Lyd og Lys
Re: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2012, 06:23:52 am »

It would likely be cheaper and easier to sell your LS9-32 and snake and put the money you would have spent on a 3rd party digital snake towards a board that was designed around one.  An A&H GLD system should be within reach, and may require less out of pocket cash than adding a digital snake to your current system.

Or if you're really happy with Yamaha as a whole, you could purchace a "CL-series" RIO rack for the LS9.  This is my upgrade path for my DM 2000. 

Advantages:

-It will give us a nice digital snake for the DM 2000 now.
-It will allow me to spread out the upgrade path over time.
-It will be a product we can use with other Yamaha products in the future, both CL-series and others.
-It will allow us to have an older backup-mixer in stock once we upgrade, and this backup will be compatible with our future preamp-racks.
-And it will allow the back-up desk of the future (DM 2000) do be able to do smaller gigs on it's own with an analog snake due to it's built-in preamps (just like the OP will with the LS9).
-It will also allow us to use an existing inventory desk for digital split/gain share-situations in the future.

Quiz:  Why am I assuming the RIO racks will be compatible with the desks Yamaha are to release after the CL 1/3/5?
Logged

TJ (Tom) Cornish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4263
  • St. Paul, MN
Re: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2012, 08:57:00 am »

Or if you're really happy with Yamaha as a whole, you could purchace a "CL-series" RIO rack for the LS9.  This is my upgrade path for my DM 2000. 

Advantages:

-It will give us a nice digital snake for the DM 2000 now.
-It will allow me to spread out the upgrade path over time.
-It will be a product we can use with other Yamaha products in the future, both CL-series and others.
-It will allow us to have an older backup-mixer in stock once we upgrade, and this backup will be compatible with our future preamp-racks.
-And it will allow the back-up desk of the future (DM 2000) do be able to do smaller gigs on it's own with an analog snake due to it's built-in preamps (just like the OP will with the LS9).
-It will also allow us to use an existing inventory desk for digital split/gain share-situations in the future.

Quiz:  Why am I assuming the RIO racks will be compatible with the desks Yamaha are to release after the CL 1/3/5?
Out of curiosity, what do a pair of Dante MY cards and a Rio rack cost? 
Logged

Mark Rombouts

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 98
Re: Yamaha and a Digital Snake.....
« Reply #9 on: September 19, 2012, 10:24:10 am »

To control the RIO racks you need a CL series console, so with LS9 of DM1/2000 is not going to work.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up
 


Page created in 0.045 seconds with 22 queries.