ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Does Speaker cab "Throw" Exist ?  (Read 10677 times)

Ivan Beaver

• Atlanta GA
Re: Does Speaker cab "Throw" Exist ?
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2012, 06:42:29 PM »

I thought that speaker throw was during break down at the end of a long day how far the stagehands can pitch the speakers into the truck without hitting anything else.  ;)
I know you intended this as funny-but when I worked as a music store bench tech-I wouild do a lot of repair work for a political satire group.  I mean mostly physical damage-horn drivers broken off-knobs broken off of mixers and so forth.

I wondered how they could possibly damage gear this much.

I saw one of their gigs.  At the end they pulled a stake body truck (open top) and literaly pitched the cabinets and the mixers etc into the truck.  No big deal for a loudspeaker to land on top of a mixer.  They just gave it to me to fix.

Always paid their bills and never complained.

i asked they whey they don't take a little bit more time and be careful.

They said that a lot of times they would really piss off people and needed to get "out of town" as soon as possible.

Yes it does happen.
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Rory Buszka

• Gearmonger
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2012, 07:44:47 PM »

I think we can say it even more simply:

"Throw" is the ability of a loudspeaker to deliver the needed sound level and intelligibility at a particular distance.