ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: speaker on a stick setup at vmworld  (Read 4517 times)

Jason Vanick

speaker on a stick setup at vmworld
« on: August 30, 2012, 10:28:27 PM »

My day job is related to tech and I just got back from a conference in san francisco ...

In the breakout rooms they were using wireless lav miss plugged into yamaha digital boards ...

From there, they were connected to a variety of analog boards before connecting to the speakers (some powered, some not)...

Can somebody enlighten me as to why it would be setup like that?

Thanks!

J

Tim Halligan

Re: speaker on a stick setup at vmworld
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2012, 01:19:56 AM »

Some bizarre form of press bridge perhaps?

Cheers,
Tim
An analogue brain in a digital world.

John Penkala

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2012, 05:55:07 AM »

My day job is related to tech and I just got back from a conference in san francisco ...

In the breakout rooms they were using wireless lav miss plugged into yamaha digital boards ...

From there, they were connected to a variety of analog boards before connecting to the speakers (some powered, some not)...

Thanks!

J

It could be that the client of the venue brought in their own A/V vendor and ran it this way to appease the in house vendor. This kind of stuff can happen when outside vendors work in union staffed venues.

TonyWilliams

• Nashville, TN
    • Blog
speaker on a stick setup at vmworld
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2012, 07:19:09 AM »

I'm thinking like what John said. The hotel provides a small mixer, and the A/V guys decided to just run through that. But since you say powered speakers instead of in house ceiling speakers, I'm not sure.

- Tony Williams
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Riley Casey

• Wash DC
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2012, 10:16:14 AM »