ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Church Scanners - No Idea what I'm doing  (Read 1957 times)

Jamie Cummins

Church Scanners - No Idea what I'm doing
« on: August 11, 2012, 07:58:10 am »

Ok, so we decided to upgrade our light equipment for our church's youth band.  The youth pastor bought 4 Chauvet scanners, a dimmer pack and a DMX control board.  I have never ran real stage lights before (I've run some lights behind color gels on dimmers before) , but I'm one of the only few that helps the youth out that can figure all this out (I'm a computer technician, but I know NOTHING about scanners/placement/etc).  I got the scanners setup and  I can figure out how to run lights fine, but we just set them up on a table so I could figure them out.  Know, he wants to know where to place them around the stage.  So my question comes down to - are there any good rules for placing scanners? behind stage? in front of stage?  We do have a hazer too by the way.  Any help is welcome.  I'll be on this community a lot. Thanks ahead of time.

Sam Feine

• Personal Website
Church Scanners - No Idea what I'm doing
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2012, 09:25:51 am »

It really depends on the look that you are going for. With the hazer placing them behind the stage could give a cool concert like light beam effect, however this would limit their usability as gobo projectors. I would experiment and see what works for you, possibly try two out front and two in back to get more possible combinations.
Electro-Acoustic Engineer at Community Professional Loudspeakers

TJ (Tom) Cornish

• St. Paul, MN
Re: Church Scanners - No Idea what I'm doing
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2012, 09:28:46 am »