ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: DJ Pay  (Read 10513 times)

Kevin McDonough

Re: DJ Pay
« Reply #10 on: September 08, 2012, 01:14:55 PM »

hey

There are occasional reasons for DJ's to "mime" publically, usually when its a high profile, very tightly timed TV events like MTV awards and big half time stuff. As well as risking the DJ making a mistake or playing too long, your also just risking thinks like equipment failure or a skipping CD/Crashing Laptop. Better to be safe than sorry when there are X-million people watching, I know I would!

However that said, being a musician as well as a sound engineer I do appreciate and somewhat agree with life's constant arguments about mimers vs musicians. But at the end of the day its about draw. Its a business and it works very clinically.

A persons name will draw in X amount of people/ticket sales for the promoter, and so the promoter will pay him/her an appropriate fee so that they can secure that acts services and still make a decent profit.

As long as all those people that turn up have a good time and think they enjoy themselves, it shouldn't really matter. If they don't then people will stop buying and promoters wont book or drastically cut fee. Simple market forces.

If you could get paid 11million for standing there doing nothing then you would, no problem! Sign me up tomorrow! :)

Dan Tartol

« Reply #11 on: November 16, 2012, 01:23:54 PM »

A lot of the people on that list aren't even DJs, and don't clame to be. They are PRODUCERS. Anyone who has ever seen Steve Aoki live can tell you he does no actual DJing, he just parties his face off. Just because they know how to make tracks in a studio does not automatically mean they know how to mix and play on CDJs.
My profession is DJing, my passion is making it SOUND good.

Marlow Wilson

• Ottawa/Montreal CAN