ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Down

Author Topic: Having a problem with subs....  (Read 17389 times)

Scott Carneval

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 994
    • Cenero Audio Visual
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2012, 08:55:09 am »

4000 sqft is a pretty big space.  You're driving 6 15" mains with 3k watts and you expect 2 subs with 2k watts to keep up?  I think this is your first problem. 

If there is an actual issue with your subs, I suspect the problem lies between the amplifier and the speakers.  If you're clipping the input of the amp then it is at least getting SOME kind of signal, and a lot of it.  If it's crossed over or EQ'd improperly you would hear that through the speaker. 

First thing I would check is the polarity of the two subs.  Not just at the terminals on the cabinet, but actually take them apart.  Touch the two prongs of a 9v battery to the two speaker leads and verify that both cones move in the same direction. 
Logged

Demetrius Garland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2012, 09:02:59 am »

4000 sqft is a pretty big space.  You're driving 6 15" mains with 3k watts and you expect 2 subs with 2k watts to keep up?  I think this is your first problem. 

If there is an actual issue with your subs, I suspect the problem lies between the amplifier and the speakers.  If you're clipping the input of the amp then it is at least getting SOME kind of signal, and a lot of it.  If it's crossed over or EQ'd improperly you would hear that through the speaker. 

First thing I would check is the polarity of the two subs.  Not just at the terminals on the cabinet, but actually take them apart.  Touch the two prongs of a 9v battery to the two speaker leads and verify that both cones move in the same direction.
[/quoute]

Gotcha...Yeah we were wondering if we needed more subs and power and they are like almost 100 feet away from each other. I will check the polarity tonight. Thanks for your input!!!
Logged

John Halliburton

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 802
  • White pointy beard, knows zip...about chicken.
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2012, 09:46:24 am »

Hey...sorry so late, the amp is a Behringer EUROPOWER EP2000. The low pass filter on the mono out is activated and the filter is set at 120hertz. As our mains we have 3000 watts driving 6 15s. The church is about 4000sq feet more wider than longer and the subs are positioned standing up in the far outside corners facing straight. I dont have a SPL meter to check levels but from reading LED meters everything is pretty much at unity gain. Speakers are properly plugged in the two red terminals for bridging. The Eq bands are all down except from 120khz-20khz are set in a frown shape. Thanks for all your help. Let me know if im forgetting any more info. Thanks.

First, I don't see a switch with a 120hz low pass function on that amp.  The only filter switches are for a 30 or 50hz high pass function, with a switch to bypass this function-for both input channels. Is this function actually on the mixer?  Doesn't show it on the Behringer website, and can't find a manual.

Second, just because you've used the two red terminals for your speaker cable(and I'm assuming you've followed the other instructions for proper bridge function operation), doesn't mean that the cable between the subs isn't wired correctly, or as another poster pointed out, one of the drivers is mis-wired in the cabinet.  IT HAPPENS, check these things out.

Third, you don't measure gain structure with an SPL meter, and how/what are you measuring with "LED meters"?

Don't use the equalizer as an active crossover.  Find a real one, and set it up between 80-100hz for the low pass function, adjust gains properly, then see how it works.

Best regards,

John

Logged

duane massey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1613
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #13 on: July 09, 2012, 10:15:54 am »

Hey...sorry so late, the amp is a Behringer EUROPOWER EP2000. The low pass filter on the mono out is activated and the filter is set at 120hertz. As our mains we have 3000 watts driving 6 15s. The church is about 4000sq feet more wider than longer and the subs are positioned standing up in the far outside corners facing straight. I dont have a SPL meter to check levels but from reading LED meters everything is pretty much at unity gain. Speakers are properly plugged in the two red terminals for bridging. The Eq bands are all down except from 120khz-20khz are set in a frown shape. Thanks for all your help. Let me know if im forgetting any more info. Thanks.
If I understand correctly the EQ is between the mixer and the sub amp? And the EQ has all the bands below 120hz turned down? Please tell me you have the EQ on the mains if this is the curve  you have set, otherwise you are removing all low frequency signal from the signal before it reaches the sub amp. Since you also had a problem getting a strong signal to a powered sub, I really suspect something other than the amp or the speakers, and IF you do have the EQ set up as you described this would cause the symptoms you are experiencing.
Logged
Duane Massey
Technician, musician, stubborn old guy
Houston, Texas

Demetrius Garland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #14 on: July 09, 2012, 10:23:31 am »

First, I don't see a switch with a 120hz low pass function on that amp.  The only filter switches are for a 30 or 50hz high pass function, with a switch to bypass this function-for both input channels. Is this function actually on the mixer?  Doesn't show it on the Behringer website, and can't find a manual.

Second, just because you've used the two red terminals for your speaker cable(and I'm assuming you've followed the other instructions for proper bridge function operation), doesn't mean that the cable between the subs isn't wired correctly, or as another poster pointed out, one of the drivers is mis-wired in the cabinet.  IT HAPPENS, check these things out.

Third, you don't measure gain structure with an SPL meter, and how/what are you measuring with "LED meters"?

Don't use the equalizer as an active crossover.  Find a real one, and set it up between 80-100hz for the low pass function, adjust gains properly, then see how it works.

Best regards,

John

Yeah...the low pass filter switch is on the mixer mono out channel. The the filter frequ selection knob is set to 120khz. On the amp there are little switches in the back that turns activates and deactivates certain functions for Channels 1 & 2 on the amp. I set it up to the manufact instructions for bridge mode. As far as testing signal I have no test equipment. I just making sure that there is proper signal to each input based on the led signal levels on each piece of equipment. On the amp I just turn it up till it starts to clip then turn it back down right under where it would start to clip.
Logged

James A. Griffin

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 832
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2012, 10:25:30 am »

Yeah...the low pass filter switch is on the mixer mono out channel. The the filter frequ selection knob is set to 120khz. On the amp there are little switches in the back that turns activates and deactivates certain functions for Channels 1 & 2 on the amp. I set it up to the manufact instructions for bridge mode. As far as testing signal I have no test equipment. I just making sure that there is proper signal to each input based on the led signal levels on each piece of equipment. On the amp I just turn it up till it starts to clip then turn it back down right under where it would start to clip.

Set the EQ to flat - or pull it out of the chain.   See if that changes anything.
Logged
I need to determine where in this swamp of unbalanced formulas squatteth the Toad of Truth

Ivan Beaver

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9090
  • Atlanta GA
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2012, 10:32:17 am »

Yeah...the low pass filter switch is on the mixer mono out channel. The the filter frequ selection knob is set to 120khz. .
I assume you mean 120hz NOT 120,000 Hz.  As you have stated several times.
Logged
A complex question is easily answered by a simple-easy to understand WRONG answer!

Ivan Beaver
Danley Sound Labs

PHYSICS- NOT FADS!

Demetrius Garland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2012, 10:41:49 am »

If I understand correctly the EQ is between the mixer and the sub amp? And the EQ has all the bands below 120hz turned down? Please tell me you have the EQ on the mains if this is the curve  you have set, otherwise you are removing all low frequency signal from the signal before it reaches the sub amp. Since you also had a problem getting a strong signal to a powered sub, I really suspect something other than the amp or the speakers, and IF you do have the EQ set up as you described this would cause the symptoms you are experiencing.

On the EQ everything ABOVE 120khz is turned down, and between 20khz-120khz its set in a frown shape with 60khz being the highest set freq on the EQ. Yeah with the powered sub...samething, you couldnt hear it at all really. You literally would have to be like 3-5feet in front of it. With the powered sub we ran it directly to the sub from the mixer because it already had a built in crossover...and it performed way better when we demo'd it at Guitar Center.
Logged

Demetrius Garland

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2012, 10:43:52 am »

I assume you mean 120hz NOT 120,000 Hz.  As you have stated several times.

Yes...sorry 120hz, were not up in the highs. I apologize.
Logged

michael sveda

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 76
  • Greensboro, NC
Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2012, 10:54:11 am »

How about trying AUX Fed subs, feed just kick drum and bass guitar and maybe keyboards. Don't put an EQ in the chain. See if that works any better.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Having a problem with subs....
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2012, 10:54:11 am »


Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.04 seconds with 22 queries.