ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Smartfade ML vs. Show Designer 2  (Read 4800 times)

Brian Larson

Smartfade ML vs. Show Designer 2
« on: July 02, 2012, 01:33:00 pm »

I'm in the market for a small moving light console. Right now it's between the Elation Show Designer 2 and the ETC Smartfade ML.

Obviously the Smartfade is a more "pro" board but it doesn't appear to be as easy to use for the type of work I'll be doing which is live music. The Smartfade seems to be geared more towards theater where you have a lot of rehearsal time (which I do not).

Thoughts??

duane massey

Re: Smartfade ML vs. Show Designer 2
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2012, 10:40:32 pm »

I have no experience with the Smartfade, bu the SD 2 would be a useful controller IF you spend some time setting up scenes (all sorts of scenes) that you can grab them as needed. The "live" control functionality can be quite good if you practice a bit. If you work with the same band (or bands with similar styles) it would be a great choice.
I would say it all depends upon your expertise and time you are willing to invest. Personally I love the Show Designer series (best bang for the buck), but any "generic" controller does have limitations.
Duane Massey
Technician, musician, stubborn old guy
Houston, Texas

TJ (Tom) Cornish

• St. Paul, MN
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2012, 08:56:14 am »

I'm in the market for a small moving light console. Right now it's between the Elation Show Designer 2 and the ETC Smartfade ML.

Obviously the Smartfade is a more "pro" board but it doesn't appear to be as easy to use for the type of work I'll be doing which is live music. The Smartfade seems to be geared more towards theater where you have a lot of rehearsal time (which I do not).

Thoughts??
I'm the mirror image of Duane.  I own a SmartFade ML but have never used the ShowDesigner series.