ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: DMX Controller?  (Read 5407 times)

duane massey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1597
Re: DMX Controller?
« Reply #10 on: June 12, 2012, 11:32:53 pm »

How difficult will it be to get cabling to each strip from a central location? What voltage are the wall warts? Are the strips RGB only, or do they chase down the length of the strip?
Logged
Duane Massey
Technician, musician, stubborn old guy
Houston, Texas

Jason Lucas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 806
  • Hillsboro, OR, USA
Re: DMX Controller?
« Reply #11 on: June 14, 2012, 08:54:40 pm »

How difficult will it be to get cabling to each strip from a central location? What voltage are the wall warts? Are the strips RGB only, or do they chase down the length of the strip?

The lighting guy tells me the cabling shouldn't be much of an issue.

Working input voltage on the LEDs is 12VDC. Working current/meter is 0.4A. Output power is 48W /5 Meter.

Each strip has R, G, B and a few stages in-between. When you hit the color you want on the remote, each individual LED on the strip changes to that color.
Logged
There are three things I hate: Harsh highs, hollow mids, and woofy bass.

duane massey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1597
Re: DMX Controller?
« Reply #12 on: June 14, 2012, 09:38:58 pm »

I suspect this is what you need:

http://www.usledsupply.com/shop/rgb-dmx-decoder-5a.html

If you want all strips to act the same, one of these plus a power supply:

http://www.usledsupply.com/shop/12v-150w-12-5a-power-supply-mean-well-rs150-12.html

or something similar. I nearly always use an over-sized power supply, considering the low $$ from this company.

Obviously, if you want individual control over each strip you'd need one interface for each strip (or one of the 24ch interfaces).
Logged
Duane Massey
Technician, musician, stubborn old guy
Houston, Texas

Jason Lucas

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 806
  • Hillsboro, OR, USA
Re: DMX Controller?
« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2012, 08:24:37 pm »

I suspect this is what you need:

http://www.usledsupply.com/shop/rgb-dmx-decoder-5a.html

If you want all strips to act the same, one of these plus a power supply:

http://www.usledsupply.com/shop/12v-150w-12-5a-power-supply-mean-well-rs150-12.html

or something similar. I nearly always use an over-sized power supply, considering the low $$ from this company.

Obviously, if you want individual control over each strip you'd need one interface for each strip (or one of the 24ch interfaces).

It looks like that'll work great. Thanks!
Logged
There are three things I hate: Harsh highs, hollow mids, and woofy bass.

Steve Hurt

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 663
Re: DMX Controller?
« Reply #14 on: June 19, 2012, 01:12:51 am »

lol whoops, one of our other techs has informed me that a controller is not what we are looking for, but rather the thing on the other end, to power the lights. Which makes sense, as we already use the program Bluelite to control the other lights.

Sounds like he's talking about dimmer packs.
LED lights don't need on dimmer packs.
DMX straight in
Logged

Scott Hofmann

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 358
Re: DMX Controller?
« Reply #15 on: June 19, 2012, 11:07:47 am »

Sounds like he's talking about dimmer packs.
LED lights don't need on dimmer packs.
DMX straight in

Sounds to me like Duane hit it on the head. According to the info the original poster provided, it looks like he has RGB LED tape strip that need a 12 volt DC power supply and/or DMX interface, not AC from a conventional dimmer.
Logged
Scott Hofmann

Steve Hurt

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 663
Re: DMX Controller?
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2012, 11:31:53 am »

Sounds to me like Duane hit it on the head. According to the info the original poster provided, it looks like he has RGB LED tape strip that need a 12 volt DC power supply and/or DMX interface, not AC from a conventional dimmer.

I think you're right.  I should have followed all the links before replying.
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: DMX Controller?
« Reply #16 on: June 19, 2012, 11:31:53 am »


Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.029 seconds with 22 queries.