ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: SC48 repair  (Read 7477 times)

Terry Fryar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
    • Wyard Audio
SC48 repair
« on: June 04, 2012, 01:12:22 pm »

Anyone know of a good digi-authorized repair center down in Nashville?  Got an SC48 that freaks out when you bump it on the right front corner (where the motherboard is).  Gotta be a loose ribbon cable or memory card, but we've reseated all that we can find...still doing it.  When you lightly thump it with your fist, it goes into backup mode and the screen turns into "hash", like an old tv set with rabbit ears.

Thanks!
Logged

Jay Barracato

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2025
  • Solomons, MD
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2012, 01:52:53 pm »

Anyone know of a good digi-authorized repair center down in Nashville?  Got an SC48 that freaks out when you bump it on the right front corner (where the motherboard is).  Gotta be a loose ribbon cable or memory card, but we've reseated all that we can find...still doing it.  When you lightly thump it with your fist, it goes into backup mode and the screen turns into "hash", like an old tv set with rabbit ears.

Thanks!

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/en_US/FAQ/en210711

Looks like Allpro electronics in Nashville.
(615) 259-9963
Logged
Jay Barracato

Sheldon Radford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
    • Avid VENEU Home Page
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2012, 04:48:21 pm »

Anyone know of a good digi-authorized repair center down in Nashville? 
Hi Terry,

Give the VENUE support line a call at 650-731-6111. They may have some ideas on what could be causing the issue, and can also point you to folks in Nashville who can help.

Sheldon Radford
Avid
Logged

Terry Fryar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
    • Wyard Audio
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2012, 01:26:18 pm »

Thanks Sheldon!  We'll give them a call if I can find my support id number....

Hi Terry,

Give the VENUE support line a call at 650-731-6111. They may have some ideas on what could be causing the issue, and can also point you to folks in Nashville who can help.

Sheldon Radford
Avid
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21356
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2012, 05:32:30 pm »

Thanks Sheldon!  We'll give them a call if I can find my support id number....

All you need is the serial number from the desk... and maybe not even that.  I've never had an Avid tech ask for anything else.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Greg_Cameron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 668
    • Cameron Pro Audio
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2012, 09:12:06 pm »

All you need is the serial number from the desk... and maybe not even that.  I've never had an Avid tech ask for anything else.

The same cannot be said of Avid video editing products ;)
Logged
"Procrastinators of the world - contemplate uniting!"

Cameron Pro Audio

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21356
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2012, 10:27:19 pm »

The same cannot be said of Avid video editing products ;)
What is this "video" you speak of, stranger?  LOL
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Terry Fryar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
    • Wyard Audio
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2012, 01:29:06 pm »

Maybe I wasn't calling the right number, but I ended up in phone automation hell during my first call.  We had this problem at the start of a multi-day event and when I called avid, I couldn't find any human beings...I just kept getting run around the phone system.  The tech support option required I enter my support number before it would pass me through.  I tried several other options and never got a human being on the phone, so I gave up!  It was quite frustrating to say the least....

(UPDATE)

Well...called the venue number and got a guy right off the bat.  I might have been stuck on the protools support side of the avid house the other day....????  I think we're gonna reseat the memory sticks......

All you need is the serial number from the desk... and maybe not even that.  I've never had an Avid tech ask for anything else.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2012, 01:48:33 pm by Terry Fryar »
Logged

Terry Fryar

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 30
    • Wyard Audio
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2012, 06:03:09 pm »

For anyone with this similar issue with their SC48...I will share my experience.  The repair shop and the avid guys insisted it was RAM or the hard drive.  Turns out, it was the tip from a TRS cable lodged under the motherboard!!!  Any transit would cause it to "skitter around" in there, so bumping the console may or may not have caused a crash.

So...if you ever notice you lost the tip from your headphone cable...BE SURE to check out the inside of the jack or search the bottom of the inside of the console case to find it...DO NOT let it float around in there!!!



Maybe I wasn't calling the right number, but I ended up in phone automation hell during my first call.  We had this problem at the start of a multi-day event and when I called avid, I couldn't find any human beings...I just kept getting run around the phone system.  The tech support option required I enter my support number before it would pass me through.  I tried several other options and never got a human being on the phone, so I gave up!  It was quite frustrating to say the least....

(UPDATE)

Well...called the venue number and got a guy right off the bat.  I might have been stuck on the protools support side of the avid house the other day....????  I think we're gonna reseat the memory sticks......
Logged

Robert Pham

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2012, 03:30:41 am »

One of my SC48 displays this message " This system has measured a voltage out of specifications" "
" Your system might need to be serviced"
Do i need to take it in for check up?
It's been like that for a year, how serious is that message.
thanks
Robert
Logged

Rob Spence

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3455
  • Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2012, 02:36:21 pm »

One of my SC48 displays this message " This system has measured a voltage out of specifications" "
" Your system might need to be serviced"
Do i need to take it in for check up?
It's been like that for a year, how serious is that message.
thanks
Robert

A year? Seriously?

Have you called them? Why ask us? Come on, they don't bite :-)
Logged
rob at lynxaudioservices dot com

Dealer for: AKG, Allen & Heath, Ashley, Astatic, Audix, Blue Microphones, CAD, Chauvet, Community, Countryman, Crown, DBX, Electro-Voice, FBT, Furman, Heil, Horizon, Intellistage, JBL, Lab Gruppen, Mid Atlantic, On Stage Stands, Pelican, Peterson Tuners, Presonus, ProCo, QSC, Radial, RCF, Sennheiser, Shure, SKB, Soundcraft, TC Electronics, Telex, Whirlwind and others

Greg_Cameron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 668
    • Cameron Pro Audio
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2012, 02:39:08 pm »

One of my SC48 displays this message " This system has measured a voltage out of specifications" "
" Your system might need to be serviced"
Do i need to take it in for check up?
It's been like that for a year, how serious is that message.

Post this on the DUC which is moderated by Sheldon Radford, Venue guru. There is also a lot of traffic by seasoned users there.

http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25
Logged
"Procrastinators of the world - contemplate uniting!"

Cameron Pro Audio

g'bye, Dick Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7424
  • Duluth
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2012, 02:46:15 pm »

One of my SC48 displays this message " This system has measured a voltage out of specifications" "
" Your system might need to be serviced"
Do i need to take it in for check up?
It's been like that for a year, how serious is that message.
thanks
Robert

I can diagnose the problem from here:

Loose nut behind the wheel (as my mechanic says)........
Logged
Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain...

Sheldon Radford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 32
    • Avid VENEU Home Page
Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2012, 12:45:31 am »

Hi Robert,
One of my SC48 displays this message " This system has measured a voltage out of specifications" "
" Your system might need to be serviced"
Do i need to take it in for check up?
It's been like that for a year, how serious is that message.
thanks
Robert

This requires immediate attention. An out of spec voltage rail can easily become a show stopper. Please call your local reseller or the emergency support line (650-731-6111) to diagnose this further and get it resolved.

As shown in the image you can click on the "Show Hardware Monitor" to see a report of all voltage rails. Any rail out of spec will be identified on that screen.

Sheldon Radford
Avid
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: SC48 repair
« Reply #13 on: July 18, 2012, 12:45:31 am »


Pages: 1 2 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.183 seconds with 23 queries.