ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: a poratable surround sound system for movie night help please  (Read 8761 times)

John Rosborough

• Learn to listen so you can listen and learn!

I don't even know if this is a question that can be answer in this forum. But anyway, we are having a movie night in a few months, and someone ask me about bringing in a surround sound system for the movie.

I have never done this before; not sure it's even possible in a sanctuary.

The sanctuary is about 40 ft wide by 80 ft long. It hold about 125 seats. The projector screen will be placed about 25 ft from front wall along the length side. The nearest row of seats is about 8 ft from where the projector will be placed. This leaves about 50 ft to 60 ft of seating area by 40 ft wide, or 200 to 240 square feet. The Ceiling is about 12 ft high.

Now, is there equipment that can be purchased, or at least rented that can provide the 5.1, or 7.1 Surround Sound set up? Would these (5.1 or 7.1) be the right arrangement? Are surround sound speakers needed? ... In other words, what can anyone tell me regarding this?

-John

Minister John

Ryan C. Davis

• SL,UT
Re: a poratable surround sound system for movie night help please
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2012, 01:33:38 AM »

First off, it's 2000 to 2400 ft^2

Second, You've given no indication of what you already have in there for sound. If you have speakers in roughly the right locations and they are powered by discrete amp channels you could easily add a surround processor on the head end and make it surround sound. If not, I don't see any reason you couldn't pump it through in stereo and crank the subs for better effect. Trust me, people notice the bass more than the surround sound.

I guess it all boils down to what you want/ need for that room. Is surround sound a requirement? It all sounds a little vague so far...