ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Meyer MSL-4s opinions  (Read 9429 times)

Jean-Sebastien Cote

Meyer MSL-4s opinions
« on: March 07, 2012, 07:56:03 PM »

Hi!
I'm a sound designer for theatre and one of my favourite boxes to put in designs is the good old UPA-1P.
It's pretty "dry", but it's reliable and I know what I'll get out of it.
I'm currently working on an outdoor multimedia presentation and the rental co listed MSL-4s instead of the CQs I asked for. My guess is that the throw will be better so I'm open to the idea but I've never used the box.
I'd like to hear your subjective opinion on it, considering I'm happy with UPAs, CQs and the like.

Thanks!

J.S.

Mac Kerr

• Old enough to know better
  • Administrator
  • Audio Plumber
Re: Meyer MSL-4s opinions
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2012, 11:12:15 PM »

Hi!
I'm a sound designer for theatre and one of my favourite boxes to put in designs is the good old UPA-1P.
It's pretty "dry", but it's reliable and I know what I'll get out of it.
I'm currently working on an outdoor multimedia presentation and the rental co listed MSL-4s instead of the CQs I asked for. My guess is that the throw will be better so I'm open to the idea but I've never used the box.
I'd like to hear your subjective opinion on it, considering I'm happy with UPAs, CQs and the like.

If you are used to CQs, you may not like the MSL-4. They are nothing alike. The CQs are much more "hi fi" than MSL-4s, and have way more low end. In the specs they don't look that different than a CQ-2, other than the MSL being 50lbs heavier, but my experience is the CQs just sound a lot better.