ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone with Winebottler experience help get Protea software running on a Mac?  (Read 10828 times)

Craig Hauber

• Mondak Sound Design - Plentywood MT/Grenora ND

Hey guys.. raising this discussion from the dead!  I too have tried to get the Protea System Software running under WINE (on linux), about 6 months ago, and had the same problem with PSS being unable to load the OCX file.  The file is where it's supposed to be. 

Have you had any luck working it out?

I may go back to this and try to solve it.. I am a computer programmer (but I am a unix guy.. Windows not so much) so I have a few tools I can try, eg running strace on it to see the actual pathname of the file it's trying to open...

But hopefully someone's made progress on this in the last year :)

"Get Windows"? I already have two machines running windows.. a 12 inch and a 14.  But sometimes I have two systems out at the same time, and thus need three machines.  Linux is a lot less hassle than windows.. it's a lot more flexible if you need to move hard disks around.. no license hassles.. and I already have two additional laptops running it.  I already have an additional 12 inch running linux hence my desire to run the PSS under WINE.

"Get the new processor"??  I already have three Ashly processors which I like.. and can't afford to replace them.

Really.. I do not think that PSS is particularly complex software when it comes to the use of Windows system calls.. and it's rather old, so running on WINE should be possible.  It would be great if Ashly could get involved with this issue and figure it out.  They have the PSS source code, so it would be a lot easier for them than for us.  The support from those guys has been generally great.