ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: VGA over UTP  (Read 5853 times)

GregBass

VGA over UTP
« on: February 01, 2012, 11:51:21 AM »

I'm currently an AV Manager in a hotel.  We are using VGA for video distribution and it looks terrible with runs beyond 50-75'.  The company is willing to spring for RGBHV cable/DA but I would like to find a video over UTP solution to avoid storing all that large, heavy RGBHV cable. 

Our usual setup is VGA out of a Folsom Pres Pro (VGA is only output option on this older unit.) @60' to a DA under the stage and then @75-80' to two-flown projectors and @ 15' to two-confidence monitors.

In analogue, the Magenta Multiview line seems like it would do the trick.  An XRT-A to a DA9-A to 4-MV500A receivers.  What UTP cable would you suggest for this analogue system?  Belden 7988? 7989?   Would the image quality be at least the same as through the RGBHV setup?

Are there viable digital options in the same price range?  Would the same UTP cable recommended for analogue be used for digital transmission?

Another idea is requesting a new Barco switcher with SDI output and getting an SDI DA and 4-HDMI converter/scalers (using HDMI to DVI cable on projectors?).  The scalers I've looked at are a bit pricey though. 

Thanks in advance for your suggestions.

Regards,

Greg

Jonathan Kok

• Toronto
Re: VGA over UTP
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2012, 12:36:33 PM »

I'm currently an AV Manager in a hotel.  We are using VGA for video distribution and it looks terrible with runs beyond 50-75'.  The company is willing to spring for RGBHV cable/DA but I would like to find a video over UTP solution to avoid storing all that large, heavy RGBHV cable.