ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: PA system 500-800 people  (Read 10983 times)

Kemper Watson

• Woodstock GA
Re: PA system 500-800 people
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2012, 06:55:37 AM »

Michael

The PL6 will be fine for amplification. Results of Bink's amp shoot out are below:

Model
QSC   PL 6.0 II
1k      20-20k  20Hz 1kHz   20kHz   20Hz   1kHz   20kHz  Noise at idle, in dBr
2200w 2050w 1719w 1893w 3241w   1289w 1723w 2853w -76.926   
Notes:
Sweet! Gentle limiting on mids and clean plateau on HF. Sagging AC power a non-issue.

If you search for Binks Amp Shootout youll find the xls.

I have been using QRx212/75 for several years, as has Lynx Audio down the road ( we cross rent ) and they are fine speakers for what you are describing. Their sensitivity is greater than the SRX series therefore will use less power ( both amps and AC draw) to reach the same SPL. You may save yourself some $ as 4 will only gain you coverage, not necessarily a louder show. You can pair any sub with them, but I would recommend 2X the subs ( or more) per mains, as the 212s are very clear and get very loud.

I bi-amp mine with QRX amps( not PL6, they are on the subs) but you may be please with them passive just as well, I was.

Best,
Mike

+1 . Really good sounding boxes. +1 on the JBL subs

Rob Spence

• Boston Metro North/West
    • Lynx Audio Services
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2012, 12:42:36 PM »

I bi-amp mine with QRX amps( not PL6, they are on the subs) but you may be please with them passive just as well, I was.

Best,
Mike
QSC amps...

I also use a PL6 on the subs. Great amp for that use.
I use PLX3402s and PLX1602s on my QRX212s. It is a good match.
Often I use only one pair but if the venue is wide (or outside) I splay 2 per side. If the room is narrow and I need more than one pair I use the "dual PA" approach.