ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down

Author Topic: VGA Cable run  (Read 4928 times)

Bob Cap

  • Classic LAB
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 275
VGA Cable run
« on: January 16, 2012, 06:08:52 pm »

I have a show this weekend that just told me they want to run a laptop VGA output to a couple of video projectors.

It's a mac laptop with only a VGA output.

The projectors have VGA input and looping output.

The distance we need to go is about 60-70 feet to the first projector and then on to the next.

The customer wants us to provide long VGA cables to make this hookup.

Will this work?

I don't own a mac laptop to even try this out.

I always understood you could not go that type of distance.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Bob Cap
Advanced Audio Inc.
Gilbert, MN
Logged

Brad Weber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
  • Marietta, GA
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2012, 06:22:54 pm »

I have a show this weekend that just told me they want to run a laptop VGA output to a couple of video projectors.

It's a mac laptop with only a VGA output.

The projectors have VGA input and looping output.

The distance we need to go is about 60-70 feet to the first projector and then on to the next.

The customer wants us to provide long VGA cables to make this hookup.

Will this work?

I don't own a mac laptop to even try this out.

I always understood you could not go that type of distance.

Any suggestions?
Maybe.  Seriously, the quality of the cable, the resolution and scan rate (and thus the bandwidth) of the signal, the quality of the connections and even the video out of the laptop and projector input can all affect the image.  And since you're looking at looping through the first projector, possibly the distance between the two projectors.  Of course, what is considered as an acceptable image is also a critical factor.  So it might work but about the only way to be sure would be to mock it up.
Logged

David Buckley

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2012, 07:49:34 pm »

I've got a 15m VGA cable (about 45 feet) which works just fine at 1024 x 768, so that's more than half way there, so I'm tempted to say 60 feet should work.

Most projectors I've seen that have the extra 15D connector allow them to be configured as either an input or an output, so the electronics hacker in me says there isn't a relay and a genuine loop in there, the socket is electronically driven, so the extra leg is not directly fed from the input cable but via an active split.
Logged

Jonathan Kok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 200
  • Toronto
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2012, 08:35:10 pm »

I have a show this weekend that just told me they want to run a laptop VGA output to a couple of video projectors.

It's a mac laptop with only a VGA output.

The projectors have VGA input and looping output.

The distance we need to go is about 60-70 feet to the first projector and then on to the next.

The customer wants us to provide long VGA cables to make this hookup.

Will this work?

I don't own a mac laptop to even try this out.

I always understood you could not go that type of distance.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

Bob Cap
Advanced Audio Inc.
Gilbert, MN
Can't speak for others, but my experience with macs has been that the strength of the VGA output lacks...well, strength.  I've had to throw a booster in there at distances of 100'.  Of course, it will depend on the cable.
Ask how long their cables are, and the gauge.  Just because the distance is 60-70', doesn't mean they'll provide you with 75' cables.  Could be 100', could be more.

Something like this is a handy tool to keep on...hand...bleh.  I hate puns.
Logged

Brad Weber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
  • Marietta, GA
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2012, 11:08:57 pm »

Most projectors I've seen that have the extra 15D connector allow them to be configured as either an input or an output, so the electronics hacker in me says there isn't a relay and a genuine loop in there, the socket is electronically driven, so the extra leg is not directly fed from the input cable but via an active split.
I've send HD15 inputs and outputs that, when used with the appropriate cables and/or adapters, could be used with VGA, RGBHV, RGB, component, Y/C or composite video but I don't think I've ever seen an HD15 connection on a projector that could be configured as either an input or an output.  And I have seen some projectors where the HD15 output is a simple loop from the HD15 input.

On a different note, if the Owner is providing the cables have you verified a path that allows you to pull a preterminated HD15 cable and coordinated whether any of the cables need to be plenum rated?
Logged

Ray Cerwinski

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 78
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2012, 01:26:40 am »

Just an FYI, the OP stated he was contacted to provide cabling to the client while giving the impression the client was to provide the projectors and laptop. It also seems this is a one-off event, removing an installation scenario from the mix.

In this case, I'd run the output from the laptop into a VGA distribution amplifier and then run two individual cables from the DA to each projector. As long as you are using a quality active (powered) DA, you should be fine. I would stay away from those lovely HD15 y-cables that pop up from time to time. K.I.S.S.

That said, I've never seen first-hand any projector that had any kind of loop out on an HD15 connector, let alone user configurable.
Logged
Ray Cerwinski

Brad Weber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
  • Marietta, GA
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #6 on: January 17, 2012, 08:43:44 am »

Just an FYI, the OP stated he was contacted to provide cabling to the client while giving the impression the client was to provide the projectors and laptop. It also seems this is a one-off event, removing an installation scenario from the mix.

In this case, I'd run the output from the laptop into a VGA distribution amplifier and then run two individual cables from the DA to each projector. As long as you are using a quality active (powered) DA, you should be fine. I would stay away from those lovely HD15 y-cables that pop up from time to time. K.I.S.S.

That said, I've never seen first-hand any projector that had any kind of loop out on an HD15 connector, let alone user configurable.
Ray, you are correct about the general situation, I misread the OP.  However, many projectors have a loop out for the HD15 input, although they vary in exactly what it is and can do.  It would probably make sense to confirm looping through the first projector is even a viable option for the projectors involved, if it is not then that would be all the more reason to look at a DA.  You might also want to confirm the native resolution of the projectors, assuming them to be 1024x768 and finding out they are instead 1920x1080 could make a difference in what may work and what you provide.
Logged

Gary Creely

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 29
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #7 on: January 17, 2012, 09:02:15 am »

Maybe.  Seriously, the quality of the cable, the resolution and scan rate (and thus the bandwidth) of the signal, the quality of the connections and even the video out of the laptop and projector input can all affect the image.  And since you're looking at looping through the first projector, possibly the distance between the two projectors.  Of course, what is considered as an acceptable image is also a critical factor.  So it might work but about the only way to be sure would be to mock it up.

Couple thoughts here.

60 feet is not that long a run for VGA, however looping in and out of projectors is not the best route because they are often a passive loop and weaken the signal.

The VGA distro amp would be the way to handle this if you were trying to stay with VGA cables.

I would suggest a Kramer TP114 VGA to Cat5 distro and pt120 receivers. This would give you a 300' range and 4 outputs, for the cable just use regular cat5 cables.
Logged

Jonathan Kok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 200
  • Toronto
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #8 on: January 17, 2012, 10:05:01 am »

I've send HD15 inputs and outputs that, when used with the appropriate cables and/or adapters, could be used with VGA, RGBHV, RGB, component, Y/C or composite video but I don't think I've ever seen an HD15 connection on a projector that could be configured as either an input or an output.  And I have seen some projectors where the HD15 output is a simple loop from the HD15 input.
Eiki LC-WB42NA
http://www.eiki.com/wb42na.htm

(first one that comes to mind...I'm sure there's more)
Logged

Brad Weber

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2209
  • Marietta, GA
Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2012, 11:32:05 am »

Eiki LC-WB42NA
http://www.eiki.com/wb42na.htm

(first one that comes to mind...I'm sure there's more)
In my experience that is an unusual configuration and the manual is confusing on the functionality.  When describing the Computer In 2/Monitor Out terminal the manual states "This terminal can be used to output the incoming analog RGB signal and component signals from COMPUTER IN 1/COMPONENT IN terminal to the other monitor (p.17)."  But then Page 17 states "Analog RGB and component signals cannot be output from the COMPUTER IN 2/MONITOR OUT terminal when using the COMPUTER IN 2/MONITOR OUT terminal as output."  These seem to directly contradict one another and I have a feeling the latter may be a typo with the last "output" supposed to be "input".  Whether it functions as a second input or a loop though of Input 1 is selected as a 'Setting' menu option, however other comments like "When the cable is of the longer variety, it is advisable to use the COMPUTER IN 1 / COMPONENT IN and not the COMPUTER IN 2." suggest that it is potentially limited in its use as an input. 
Logged

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: VGA Cable run
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2012, 11:32:05 am »


Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.17 seconds with 24 queries.