ProSoundWeb Community

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Down

Author Topic: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?  (Read 9437 times)

Airton Pereira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
    • The Knutz
Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« on: January 14, 2012, 05:43:43 pm »

So, I have a ls9-32 for two years. A  few weeks ago it started to get slow after a couple hours of normal use. The meters leds blink slowly, it takes 10 seconds to go to another layer, it's a mess. When I move a fader, it gets normal for like a minute and then becomes slow again. StageMix was connected at the first time, but I don't how it could be the cause, cause the problem keeps coming back after I disconnect the ipad. And it won't connect again after the problem appears. The firmware version is 1.30, any thoughts? It looks  like a 5 year-old windows pc.
The sound is not affected though.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2012, 06:07:17 pm by Airton Pereira Silva »
Logged
Drummer and Sound Engineer for The Knutz.

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21646
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 06:27:28 pm »

So, I have a ls9-32 for two years. A  few weeks ago it started to get slow after a couple hours of normal use. The meters leds blink slowly, it takes 10 seconds to go to another layer, it's a mess. When I move a fader, it gets normal for like a minute and then becomes slow again. StageMix was connected at the first time, but I don't how it could be the cause, cause the problem keeps coming back after I disconnect the ipad. And it won't connect again after the problem appears. The firmware version is 1.30, any thoughts? It looks  like a 5 year-old windows pc.
The sound is not affected though.

I'd reload the firmware and see if that helps.
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Airton Pereira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
    • The Knutz
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2012, 12:04:37 am »

How can I do it? I powered it on with the usb stick with the 1.30v in it. The problem is still there.
Logged
Drummer and Sound Engineer for The Knutz.

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21646
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2012, 02:49:03 am »

How can I do it? I powered it on with the usb stick with the 1.30v in it. The problem is still there.
I'd start by powering up without any extra stuff... no VNC, no ipad, no computers....  just the console.  Does it behave the same?  If so, I'd reload the firmware.  Based on the quoted text I think either the firmware file is corrupt, misnamed, compressed, or not in the root directory.

If you power up with the firmware decompressed and in the root directory of the thumb drive, you should get a prompt like "Start Loading?"  IIRC you press the INC(REMENT) button to start the process.  After it reboots, reinitialize all memories.  If you're not getting the prompt, it's likely that the desk isn't fully happy with your USB drive.  I've had a few that would work for storing console (M7C) files, but wouldn't be recognized on start up.

At any rate, save your current console config to a USB drive.  Reload the V1.30 FW and again try the desk without any other stuff connected to it.  It it works normally, load the saved console file (no extra stuff) and test.  If it slows down, there is something in your config (though I can't think of what might do this).  If not, incrementally add in the access point, iPad and other accessories until you can replicate the failure.

I also suggest you contact Yamaha and see what they say.

Happy trouble shooting.

Tim Mc
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

David Hadfield

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2012, 05:00:32 am »

Remove the network cable and see if it makes a difference - I have had problems with M7's and dodgy network connections.
Logged

Frederik RosenkjŠr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 476
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2012, 05:49:52 am »

Sluggishness is "normal" as soon as the iPad is in the picture. Disconnect from it AND CLOSE THE APP on the iPad! See if that helps - it does here.

When on the subject: Yamaha, this is making the otherwise very nice StageMix app virtually unusable in many situations.
Logged
Affiliations: Danley Sound Labs, Yamaha (MI)

Steve Hurt

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 663
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2012, 02:41:43 pm »

Sluggishness is "normal" as soon as the iPad is in the picture. Disconnect from it AND CLOSE THE APP on the iPad! See if that helps - it does here.

When on the subject: Yamaha, this is making the otherwise very nice StageMix app virtually unusable in many situations.

I have noticed that when I forget to set my Ipad to not time out, when it does time out and go to sleep, the board is non-responsive during the period where the Ipad is shutting down.  Once it's asleep, the board works fine.  I haven't noticed sluggishness when everything is up and rolling (but maybe I'm just lucky)
Logged

Airton Pereira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
    • The Knutz
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2012, 07:05:20 pm »

I ran some tests today. First, I played some recorded songs through the pc for three hours with the ethernet cable disconnected. Everything ok. Then I connected the cable and kept playing songs for two hours with no problem. Finally I connected the ipad with the ls9 and let them work for one hour. Nice and clean. When I turned the ipad off (sleep mode) the slow down came out a few minutes later. I closed the app. It┤s been 30 minutes with no problem after that.
Logged
Drummer and Sound Engineer for The Knutz.

Matt Tudor

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 91
  • NW Iowa.
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2012, 10:37:54 am »

So, I have a ls9-32 for two years. A  few weeks ago it started to get slow after a couple hours of normal use. The meters leds blink slowly, it takes 10 seconds to go to another layer, it's a mess. When I move a fader, it gets normal for like a minute and then becomes slow again. StageMix was connected at the first time, but I don't how it could be the cause, cause the problem keeps coming back after I disconnect the ipad. And it won't connect again after the problem appears. The firmware version is 1.30, any thoughts? It looks  like a 5 year-old windows pc.
The sound is not affected though.

I've had similar intermittant problems with our LS9-32 with Studio Manager and Stagemix. We currently use the house wired/wireless Ethernet systems to connect to our board. I've noticed that I get weaker connection strength in one venue, and have been told that there is more network traffic in that space. Coincidentally (???) I've noticed in the same venue that the board's display and the meters in Studiomanger/Stagemix slow down considerably in that venue, especially after long period of operation. Only in that venue (and only occasionally in there), and only with the remote software operating for a while.The best fix that I can come up with is powering down the board for a few minutes, although that cant happen during a show. During a show I shut off the ipad/laptop for a while and reconnect after a few minutes.
My guess has always been that when the network connection gets flaky or the network slows down, the console and remote software displays slows down. Like you, I've never had the problem affect the audio, and I've never been been able to duplicate the problem for significant troubleshooting.
Logged

Aaron_McQueen

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2015, 07:29:21 am »

Sorry to bring up this old thread.  We started seeing this problem recently.  Has anyone found a fix in the last 3 years?
Logged

Frederik RosenkjŠr

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 476
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2015, 08:14:22 am »

Last thing I heard, it's a matter of the router/switch connected to the console. Some cause this, some don't - but I don't know of a list of good/bad ones.
Logged
Affiliations: Danley Sound Labs, Yamaha (MI)

Steve Hurt

  • Lab Lounge
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 663
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2015, 09:33:49 am »

Last thing I heard, it's a matter of the router/switch connected to the console. Some cause this, some don't - but I don't know of a list of good/bad ones.


Is your board on the newest firmware and stagemix on the latest version?
Logged

Tim McCulloch

  • SR Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21646
  • Wichita, Kansas USA
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2015, 09:37:01 am »

Sorry to bring up this old thread.  We started seeing this problem recently.  Has anyone found a fix in the last 3 years?

If you just started seeing this as a new problem, what changed in your setup, network, or hardware?
Logged
"Practicing an art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow, for heaven's sake. Sing in the shower. Dance to the radio. Tell stories. Write a poem to a friend, even a lousy poem. Do it as well as you possible can. You will get an enormous reward. You will have created something."  - Kurt Vonnegut

Matt Vivlamore

  • Lab Lounge
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 416
    • https://www.facebook.com/MeerkatSound/
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2015, 10:53:19 am »

How can I do it? I powered it on with the usb stick with the 1.30v in it. The problem is still there.

I had v1.30 and it was doing the same thing... The current is v1.35.

The issue was resolved when V1.33 became available... "Improvement - Improved the performance in which the LS9's panel operation was infrequently slow when the LS9 was connected with the LS9 StageMix."

Go Here: http://www.yamahaproaudio.com/northamerica/en_us/downloads/firmware_software/ls9/ls9_frm135.jsp
Logged

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1879
  • Washington, D.C.
Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2015, 01:34:01 pm »

+1

1.33 squared all that up for many of us a while back. I'd just get current.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2015, 01:36:14 pm by Samuel Rees »
Logged

Airton Pereira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 152
    • The Knutz
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2015, 02:20:10 pm »

Yeah, the 1.33v resolved this issue. Now I lose connection eventually and the board does not slow down anymore, although I need to reboot the console to reconnect the iPad.
Logged
Drummer and Sound Engineer for The Knutz.

Samuel Rees

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1879
  • Washington, D.C.
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #16 on: January 19, 2015, 04:57:33 pm »

I'd go all the way to 1.35 - most of
the areas of work are remote / iPad related these days. Don't think there is much you can do in terms of working on connection issues without upgrading to the latest.
Logged

Tommy Peel

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1462
  • Longview, Texas
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #17 on: January 19, 2015, 05:35:17 pm »

I've been using 1.35 on a LS9-32 with StageMix running on an iPad 1 for several months now with few if any issues. Router is an older Airport Extreme dedicated to the mixer with no internet access.
Logged

Luke Geis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2111
    • Owner of Endever Music Production's
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #18 on: January 19, 2015, 06:30:39 pm »

All of the issues with networking and mixer lag have been fixed since the latest firmware and StageMix updates have come out. I once had severe issues with reliability with the IPad and since IOS 7 ( and now even 8 ) and the latest FW. all issues have disappeared.
Logged
I don't understand how you can't hear yourself

Ade Stuart

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 119
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #19 on: February 01, 2015, 06:16:34 pm »

Well, I just had an LS9 slow down on me again for the first time in ages. Firmware was 1.35 on the desk and stagemix is up to date with version 4.5.0. iPad is 7.1. The router was my usual Ruckus with just the iPad connected, IP addresses were static and Yamaha default and the desk had one Dante MY card installed and in use.  :-\
Logged

Luke Geis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2111
    • Owner of Endever Music Production's
Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
« Reply #20 on: February 02, 2015, 12:03:19 am »

I have never really had a problem with lagging so much as app reliability. It sounds like there are still a few isolated incidents where lagging happens. I just did a 4 day show where the Ipad was connected to the mixer for 8 hours each day of run time. Not once did the app drop out, nor the mixer hold up. Two years ago I couldn't go 2 minutes without the app losing sync.
Logged
I don't understand how you can't hear yourself

ProSoundWeb Community

Re: Yamaha LS9 getting slow?
┬ź Reply #20 on: February 02, 2015, 12:03:19 am ┬╗


Pages: 1 2 3 [All]   Go Up
 



Page created in 0.089 seconds with 24 queries.